A 193-run second-wicket partnership by Grasshoppers took centre stage in round two of the WBOPCA B Grade championship on Saturday.

Grasshoppers batted first against Cadets and posted 309/8 in their 40 overs. Andy Balfour smashed 120 and Gary Rudolf, who finished with a neat 100, did the damage in a near 200-run partnership. Nathan Reid grabbed four wickets for Cadets.

But WBOPCA First Round competition winners Cadets weren't fazed by the huge target and launched into attack mode. James Farrant smacked a half century, with other Cadets batsmen making useful contributions before they were removed for 248, to give Grasshoppers a 61-run win.

Wanderers, the defending B Grade champions, remain the only unbeaten side after the two rounds of the 2015 title race. On Saturday they bowled Greerton out for 125 and then cruised to an easy six-wicket victory.


Albion defied their position at the bottom of the WBOPCA First Round competition standings to upset Katikati. Albion posted 215 then bowled Katikati out for 187. Mount Maunganui beat the Singh XI with Mount bowler Karl Friend grabbing a five wicket bag.

Defending Reserve Grade titleholders R&A Sangha put the first half of the season's moderate form behind them to post their second successive victory and remain unbeaten. The Sangha XI reached 240 all out and then restricted Mount Maunganui to 220/9 to claim the victory.

Joint competition leaders Cadets were too strong for Greerton. Led by ex-premier player Ryan King, who top scored with 58, Cadets cruised to an easy win. Sikh Sports posted a win over Tauranga Boys' College second XI while Katikati beat Te Puke.

WBOP Reserve Grade:

TBC 2nd XI 167 (Calem Taylor 26, HS Bhadiar 3/34) lost to Sikh Sports 168/9 (Amritpal Singh 56no, Deepu Singh 42, Joe Turner 4/22); R&A Sangha 240 (JS Badyal 61, Jat Sehgal 46, Steve Charman 3/40) defeated Mount Maunganui 220/9 (Hayden Byrnes 94, Kyle Dovey 46); Katikati 253 (Matt Earl 87, Josh Wilson 51, Cam Riley 4/40) defeated Te Puke 138 (Matt Dwight 60, Matt Harrison 5/29); Cadets 230/9 (Ryan King 58, Chris Norton 47, Grant Manners 42, Harry Aslam 4/36, Darren Heimann 3/33) defeated Greerton 163 (Joelle Kurisi 31, Darren Heimann 28, Ryan King 2/11)


R&A Sangha 40, Cadets 40, Mount Maunganui 30, Katikati 29, Greerton 27, Sikh Sports 26, Tauranga Boys College 2nd XI 15, Te Puke 13.

WBOP B Grade:

Greerton 125 (Sam Lee 4/26) lost to Wanderers 126/4 (Lyndon Balmer 44); Albion 215 (RD Blakey 68, Bruce Majorbanks 43) defeated Katikati 187 (Ben Warren 43, Duane Jones 2/8); Grasshoppers 309/8 (Andy Balfour 120, Gary Rudolf 100; Nathan Reid 4/36) beat Cadets 248 (James Farrant 54, Karl Bryan 39, Andy Balfour 3/36); Mount Maunganui 155/8 (Mark McTamney 38) defeated Singh XI 129 (Karl Friend 5/7, Sam Read 3/31)


Wanderers 12, Greerton 6, Cadets 6, Katikati 6, Grasshoppers 6, Albion 6, Mount Maunganui 6, Singh XI 0.