Did Marcus Rashford dive or was there contact?

Did Marcus Rashford dive or was there contact?

Well it's never a good sign when the opposing manager starts off by saying "I'm not saying he cheated. I'm using the word 'deceived.'".

That was Swansea manager Paul Clement's take on the controversial penalty in his side's 1-1 draw with Manchester United this morning.

"Maybe cheat is a word I'd use another time but on this occasion I think he deceived the ref," Clement told the Independent newspaper.

Rashford has provided us with some memorable moments in his fledgling career, but there was nothing to admire in the way he persuaded referee Neil Swarbrick to point to the spot.

Did Lukasz Fabanski even make significant contact with his opponent? It hardly mattered. Rashford had already made up his mind to go to ground after racing onto Jesse Lingard's throughball and touching it past the advancing Swansea goalkeeper.

The penalty was given and Wayne Rooney stepped up to give United a 1-0 lead just before halftime.

Gylfi Sigurdsson's free kick however dented United's Champions League hopes.

It was a deflating way for fifth-placed United to set a club record unbeaten streak: 25 matches dating back to Oct. 23. A more important statistic is the 14 league games they have drawn this season, 10 in front of their own fans.

Swansea, though, is now only two points from safety with three games to go.

- AP and Daily Mail

- NZ Herald

Get the news delivered straight to your inbox

Receive the day’s news, sport and entertainment in our daily email newsletter

SIGN UP NOW
Stats provided by

© Copyright 2017, NZME. Publishing Limited

Assembled by: (static) on production apcf05 at 24 May 2017 23:26:53 Processing Time: 419ms