Soccer: Rojas named A-League's best

Marco Rojas with the Johnny Warren Medal. Photo / Getty Images
Marco Rojas with the Johnny Warren Medal. Photo / Getty Images

All White Marco Rojas has been named the A-League's best player beating out former Italian striker and Sydney FC star Alessandro Del Piero for the award.

Rojas polled 908 votes from his fellow players, with Sydney FC marquee star Del Piero next best on 449 in his successful maiden season in the A-League.

The former Wellington Phoenix midfielder is the second New Zealand to win the Johnny Warren Medal after All Whites teammate Shane Smeltz claimed the award while playing for the Phoenix in the 2008-09 season.

It was a red-letter night for 21 year-old Rojas at Sydney's Hilton Hotel, where he also scooped the young player of the year award.

Golden Boot winner Daniel McBreen, who led the A-League with 17 goals, was third in the Johnny Warren Medal, on 280 votes, followed by Central Coast clubmate and New Zealand international midfielder Michael McGlinchey (239), with Adelaide playmaker Dario Vidosic (222), rounding out the top five.

Midfielder Rojas has yet to decide whether he will play overseas next season or stay with Victory.

"I just wanted to finish the season first before I thought about it," Rojas said.

"Now it's finished I'll sit down with dad and think about it.

"I'll have a look at what's been offered to me and see what's the best for me, what's going to help me further develop my football."

Melbourne midfielder Marcos Flores won the goal of the year award for his round five effort against Wellington Phoenix.

First-season franchise and Premier's Plate winner Western Sydney Wanderers picked up two awards.

Tony Popovic was named coach of the year and goalkeeper Ante Covic won the Golden Glove award.

Brisbane Roar collected the fair play award and Peter Green referee of the year.

Full list of winners
Johnny Warren Medal: Marco Rojas, Melbourne Victory
Young Footballer of the Year: Marco Rojas, Melbourne Victory
Goalkeeper of the Year: Ante Covic, Western Sydney Wanderers
Golden Boot: Daniel McBreen, Central Coast Mariners (18 goals)
Goal of the Year: Marcos Flores, Melbourne Victory (v Wellington Phoenix, rd 5)
Coach of the Year: Tony Popovic, Western Sydney Wanderers
Referee of the Year: Peter Green
Fair Play Award: Brisbane Roar

Get the news delivered straight to your inbox

Receive the day’s news, sport and entertainment in our daily email newsletter

Stats provided by

© Copyright 2017, NZME. Publishing Limited

Assembled by: (static) on production bpcf02 at 26 May 2017 08:37:43 Processing Time: 687ms