Audrey Young

Audrey Young is the New Zealand Herald’s political editor.

Hutchison, Calder will not seek re-election

National MP Paul Hutchison. Photo / Ross Setford
National MP Paul Hutchison. Photo / Ross Setford

National MPs Paul Hutchison and Cam Calder will not seek re-election in next year's election.

Paul Hutchison is the MP for Hunua and was first elected in 1999.

Dr Calder is a list MP who has stood in Manurewa. He was first elected in 2008.

Their announcement today means four National MPs have decided to bow out of politics.

Internal Affairs Minister and Napier MP Chris Tremain and West Coast based list MP Chris Auchinvole have said they will not seek re-election.

National this week began its selection process, opening nominations for the electorate of Helensville, held by Prime Minister John Key, and Clutha-Southland, held by Deputy Prime Minister Bill English.

- NZ Herald

Get the news delivered straight to your inbox

Receive the day’s news, sport and entertainment in our daily email newsletter


© Copyright 2015, NZME. Publishing Limited

Assembled by: (static) on production bpcf05 at 14 Oct 2015 02:12:58 Processing Time: 589ms