Faafoi increases his majority

Kris Faafoi. Photo / Mark Mitchell
Kris Faafoi. Photo / Mark Mitchell

Kris Faafoi's majority in the Mana by-election last month has increased by more than 300 votes.

Official results from the Mana by-election released today confirmed Labour candidate Mr Faafoi won by 1406 votes.

Unofficial counts on election night showed his majority at 1080.

The Electoral Commission said 54.72 per cent of the 43,556 people who were enrolled to vote in the November 20 by-election did so.

Mr Faafoi got 10,980 votes, with National MP Hekia Parata second with 9574 in the official count. That was an increase for both from 10,397 and 9317 respectively on the night.

Green candidate Jan Logie was third on 1543 (1493 on the night) and union candidate Matt McCarten was fourth with 849 (816).

In the 2008 general election, Ms Parata ran against former Labour MP Winnie Laban who held the seat with a 6155 majority.

The deadline for a recount of the votes is Monday. A return of writ naming the successful candidate will be issued on Tuesday, if no recount is called for.

Mr Faafoi is expected to be sworn into Parliament on December 14.

The official results released today involved a recount of all votes cast on election night and special votes. The votes were also checked for eligibility.

Official results:

* Kelly Buchanan, Alliance, 37
* Julian Lloyd Crawford, Aotearoa Legalise Cannabis Party, 112
* Colin Du Plessis, ACT, 136
* Kris Faafoi, Labour, 10,980
* Sean Fitzpatrick, Libertarianz, 46
* Jan Logie, Greens, 1543
* Matt McCarten, Independent, 849
* Hekia Parata, National, 9574


Get the news delivered straight to your inbox

Receive the day’s news, sport and entertainment in our daily email newsletter


© Copyright 2017, NZME. Publishing Limited

Assembled by: (static) on production bpcf03 at 24 May 2017 21:59:42 Processing Time: 433ms