Steelform Wanganui's injury problems have continued leading into this afternoon's tough Meads Cup semifinal with South Canterbury in Timaru.

Reserve lock Sekonaia Kalou's ankle did not come right in time, with Cade Robinson being included for his second Mitre 10 Heartland game.

In addition, prop Hamish Mellow was doubtful after waking up with a sore back yesterday, with Gabriel Hakaraia on standby to start and Wiremu Cottrell from the Wanganui Development XV and Whanganui Maori squads coming onto the bench.

The front row stocks are now very depleted with Viki Tofa unavailable.


In other changes in the backline, Collegiate schoolboy Cody Hemi goes back to the bench with Dane Whale moving into first-five and Ethan Robinson getting his first Heartland start after debuting last Saturday against North Otago.

Having younger players in such key positions makes Wanganui's task even more of a challenge, given South Canterbury have named their strongest and most experienced outfit.

Hawke's Bay loan fullback Liam Edwards, centre Shayne Anderson and wing Setefano Sauqaqa are confirmed in the starting lineup after injury.

Brad Hemopo was the No8 who caught Wanganui napping and snuck down the blindside from a 5m scrum to score the winning try in South Canterbury's 21-17 win between the team's in September.

The side is captained by incumbent NZ Heartland XV skipper Kieran Coll.

The TAB has literally taken a bob each way, with both team's paying $1.85 head to head.

Kickoff is 2.30pm.

The teams are
1. Kamipeli Latu; 2. Cole Baldwin (c); 3. Hamish Mellow/Gabriel Hakaraia; 4. Sam Madams; 5. Campbell Hart; 6. Tremaine Gilbert; 7. Jamie Hughes; 8. Bryn Hudson; 9. Lindsay Horrocks; 10. Dane Whale; 11. Cameron Crowley; 12. Ethan Robinson; 13. Kaveni Dabenaise; 14. Simon Dibben; 15. Nick Harding.
Reserves - Forwards: 16. Roman Tutauha (vc); 17. Gabriel Hakaraia/Wiremu Cottrell; 18. Cade Robinson; 19. Angus Middleton. Backs: 20. Tom Stewart; 21. Cody Hemi; 22. Samu Kubunavanua.

South Canterbury
1. Matt Fetu; 2. Marac Beckham; 3. JP Koen; 4. Kieran Coll (c); 5. Luke Brice; 6. BJ Oliver; 7. Nick Strachan; 8. Brad Hemopo; 9. Willie Wright; 10. Jared Thevathan; 11. Kalavini Leatigago; 12. Shayne Anderson; 13. Vatiliai Tora; 14. Setefano Sauqaqa; 15. Liam Edwards.
Reserves - Forwards: 16. Jonny Andrews; 17. Ben Hewtison; 18. Will Joines; 19. Loni Toumohuni; 20. Glen Sturgess; 21. Kevin Moore; 22. Sireli Buliruarua.