Two New Zealand title holders were able to close out the Wanganui RSA's annual 8-Ball Open on Sunday evening as Hawke's Bay's Bayden Jackson won the final against Palmerston North's Brent Wells.

Jackson, who had also won the Wanganui Open in 2014, took out the final with Wells 4-2 in the best of seven games.

Both men got through some tight semifinals which left the punters at the RSA, along with those watching the main tables on an internet livestream, on tenterhooks through the afternoon and into the early evening.

Jackson defeated Timaru Town & Country representative Simon Singleton 4-3, while Wells saw off Taradale Club's Dean Garnett 4-2.


In the Plate competiton, Upper Hutt's Patrick Kara won the title, beating Palmerston North's Coein Bligh 3-1 in the best of five games.

Kara had beaten Bligh's clubmate Jeremy Lemon 3-1 in the semifinal, while Blight beat Hamilton's Gloria Rawrir 3-1 in the other playoff.

This year's event saw 75 players taking part, with convenor Dallas Rodgers also naming 11 reserves, of which ten of them were able to take part after late withdrawals.

The 2017 champion Matt McInness of Tokoroa did not attend this year.

A two-time previous winner, Singleton was perhaps the furthest travelled, having moved to Queenstown in recent times, and having to take multiple plane flights to make the trip.

Rodgers said their livestream, which was in it's third year, had over 2600 views.

"The avid pool or snooker player would take their interest."

The annual tournament has several sponsors who were thanked for their contributions.