Steelform Wanganui will start with most of their incumbents while unveiling a new captain today against Hawkes Bay Saracens at Napier Park.

Roman Tutauha will run out ahead of Cole Baldwin at hooker and with that assumes the mantle of skipper.

Beyond that, the starting XV is fairly settled from the remaining players who challenged for the Ranfurly Shield in June, minus the three veterans who retired in Peter Rowe, Ace Malo and Karl Parker, along with flanker Taione Ratu.

Jamie Hughes officially takes over the No7 jumper from Rowe, while Tremaine Gilbert comes back into the side at blindside flanker.


In the backline, Malo's retirement sees Cameron Crowley move from centre to fullback, with Kaveni Dabenaise coming off the wing to partner Timoci Seruwalu in the midfield, while Simon Dibben rejoins the starting lineup.

Wanganui will have a ten-player bench, split evenly between forwards and backs.

The team is

1. Hamish Mellow; 2. Roman Tutauha (c); 3. Viki Tofa; 4. Sam Madams; 5. Sokonaia Kalou; 6. Tremaine Gilbert; 7. Jamie Hughes; 8. Bryn Hudson; 9. Lindsay Horrocks; 10. Craig Clare; 11. Samu Kubunavanua; 12. Timoci Seruwalu; 13. Kaveni Dabenaise; 14. Simon Dibben; 15. Cameron Crowley.

Reserves: 16. Cole Baldwin; 17. Gabriel Hakaraia; 18. Raymond Salu; 19. Lake Ah Chong; 20. Fa'alele Iosua; 21. Angus Middleton; 22. Dane Whale; 23. Josaia Bogileka; 24. Nick Harding; 25. Te Rangitapu McLeod.