Kakatahi farmer David Matthews will again chair the Whanganui District Council's rural community board.

Mr Matthews' appointment was confirmed after the new board was sworn in on Wednesday at its first meeting after the elections.

He will lead an almost completely new board. He and Kaitoke subdivision member Bill Ashworth were the only siting members who stood for re-election.

The newcomers include David Wells (Whanganui subdivision), and three newcomers from the Kai-Iwi subdivision in Michael Dick, Sandra Falkner and Grant Skilton.


Mr Skilton was also elected deputy-chairman.

Mr Ashworth was the sole nomination for Kaitoke but as that subdivision has two seats a by-election will be held shortly to try and fill that vacancy.

And Mayor Hamish McDouall has named two new district councillors - Josh Chandulal-Mackay and Murray Cleveland - as council's representatives on the rural community board.