Bad lucked dogged Whanganui rider James Rountree in his final test in national junior ranks at the New Zealand Motocross Championships near Foxton at the weekend.

Rountree was aiming for podium finishes in two classes in his final fling in the junior ranks and all was going well when he qualified fourth in both the 15-16 year 125cc and 14-16 year 250cc classes on what is colloquially known as Flipps track at Himatangi.

However, the teenager crashed in race one of his 125cc class damaging his ankle and ultimately ruling him out of contention for the rest of the championships.