Team New Zealand have been awarded the premier national sporting award at the 55th Halberg Awards.

The America's Cup-winning side included Kerikeri sailors Blair Tuke and Andy Malony.

They were named the Team of the Year before being presented the supreme Halberg Award by Halberg Disability Sport Foundation patron, Governor-General Dame Patsy Reddy.

Team New Zealand's victory in Bermuda over Oracle marked the end of a redemption mission after succumbing to the American outfit in 2013.


Maloney and Tuke both played big roles in the successful regatta.

Tuke held a unique dual role combining the responsibilities of cyclor and trimmer while Maloney was a cog in the superb cyclor peloton.

Maloney made the transition from the Laser class in order to be ready to compete in the America's Cup but his previous sailing experience helped with the cycling-based role on ship.

"I've done quite a lot of cycling and cross-training for the Laser. You've got to have strong legs for the Laser class," he said.

"I was really in the right place at the right time when they needed some cyclors."

Team New Zealand faced stiff competition in the Team of the Year category, with the Black Ferns, Black Sox and the Women's K2500m team of Lisa Carrington and Caitlin Ryan.

The Black Ferns had a strong Northland influence help them secure a fifth Women's Rugby World Cup title when they beat England in the final 41-32.

The final was arguably the best display of rugby in 2017.

Winger Portia Woodman, first five Victoria Subritzky-Nafatali, lock Charmaine Smith and prop Aleisha Nelson were big contributors in the win.

Woodman in particular starred with 13 tries, securing herself the IRB Women's Rugby Player of the Year.

The Kaikohe flyer was also up for the High Performance Sport New Zealand Sportswoman of the Year award, however that was won by Carrington for the second consecutive years.

Carrington, who claimed medals in all her four events at the World Kayaking Championships – including two gold - edged out golfer Lydia Ko, Woodman and double international Black Fern and Black Ferns Sevens player Sarah Goss.

Sophie Pascoe won the Halberg Disabled Sportsperson of the Year for the fifth time. The Para swimmer who set six world records in 2017 was named ahead of para athletes William Stedman and Holly Robinson and para skier Corey Peters.

Shot putter Tom Walsh was named the Sportsman of the Year after becoming New Zealand's first male to win an IAAF Track and Field Championship. Walsh headed off All Black Beauden Barrett, Formula One driver Brendon Hartley and Black Caps' Ross Taylor for the win.

Gordon Walker won the Buddle Findlay Coach of the Year for the second year running. Walker, who guided canoeists in four boats, including Carrington, to medals at the World Kayak Championships was named ahead of Black Sox coach Mark Sorenson, Black Ferns coach Glenn Moore and rowing coach Gary Hay.

Track cyclist Ellesse Andrews, who won the individual pursuit and a world record at the UCI Junior Track World Championships in 2018, received the Emerging Talent award. Andrews was named ahead of sailor Josh Armit, freeskiier Nico Porteous and rower Matthew MacDonald.

All Blacks coach Steve Hansen was presented the Sport New Zealand Leadership Award. Rob Waddell was inducted into the New Zealand Sports Hall of Fame and Morrie Chandler was recognised with the Lifetime Achievement Award for services to motorsport.