Northland's Portia Woodman and Jack Goodhue have snapped up major awards at the New Zealand Rugby awards.

Woodman took home the Fan's Try of the Year gong for her 50m individual effort against the USA at the Women's Rugby World Cup in Ireland while Goodhue won the Duane Monkley Medal.

The Duane Monkley Medal is given to the best player in the Mitre 10 Cup.

Woodman added another award to her growing list of awards in 2017: World Rugby Women's Player of the Year, Albie Pryor Memorial Maori Sportsperson of the Year (shared with Rieko Ioane), Maori Sportswoman of the Year and now the New Zealand try of the year.


Meanwhile Goodhue's medal signified a breakthrough year for the midfielder. The Kawakawa product played a large role in the Crusaders' Super Rugby-winning backline before being selected for the All Blacks Northern Tour where he made his debut against a French XV.

Goodhue was an integral member of the Northland squad that went to the semi-finals of the Mitre 10 Cup Championship.

Meanwhile Woodman and fellow Northlanders Charmaine Smith, Victoria Subritzky-Nafatali and Aleisha Nelson were recognised as part of the Black Ferns' World Cup champion side.

The Black Ferns won the Team of the Year award while Glenn Moore (coach of the year) and Sarah Goss (women's player of the year) were recognised for their efforts.

In something of a surprise, Sam Whitelock did the double to take home the Super Rugby and overall Kelvin R Tremain Memorial player of the year awards, beating out star wing Rieko Ioane, the All Blacks' equal top points scorer in the Rugby Championship, and Black Ferns loose forward and sevens skipper Sarah Goss.

Whitelock, the 96-test veteran and most capped All Blacks lock, enjoyed an exceptional season.

In his rookie captaincy campaign, he helped guide the Crusaders to their first title since 2008 – that it came on the road in Johannesburg only amplifying the achievement.

Without familiar locking partner Brodie Retallick, Whitelock carried a huge load on the All Blacks northern tour. And in the final test of the season in Cardiff he also captained the All Blacks for the first time in Kieran Read's absence.

Stepping aside from the All Blacks, Wayne Smith received the special recognition for his phenomenal service to the game here. Smith's career in the black jersey began as a player in 1980 and ended (for now at least) after the Rugby Championship, having been a key member of the coaching team that led the All Blacks to successive World Cup titles.

On a similar note, DJ Forbes picked up the Richard Crawshaw Memorial sevens player of the year, and NZRPA Kirk award for his outstanding contribution to the game.

Forbes played his 150th World Series tournament and announced his retirement from sevens this year.

2017 Rugby Awards winners
Fan's Try of the Year: Portia Woodman (Black Ferns)
NZRPA Kirk Award: DJ Forbes
Charles Monro Rugby Volunteer of the Year: Sid Tatana (Wairarapa Bush)
New Zealand Rugby Referee of the Year: Ben O'Keeffe (Wellington)
New Zealand Rugby Age Grade Player of the Year: Asafo Aumua (Wellington)
Heartland Championship Player of the Year: Scott Cameron (Horowhenua Kapiti)
Richard Crawshaw Memorial All Blacks Sevens Player of the Year: DJ Forbes (Counties Manukau)
Black Ferns Sevens Player of the Year: Ruby Tui (Canterbury)
Duane Monkley Medal: Jack Goodhue (Northland)
Fiao'o Fa'amausili Medal: Hazel Tubic (Counties Manukau)
Super Rugby Player of the Year: Sam Whitelock (Crusaders)
Tom French Memorial Māori Player of the Year: Rieko Ioane (Ngāpuhi/Te Whānau ā Apanui)
Salver for an Outstanding Contribution to New Zealand Rugby: Wayne Smith
Coach of the Year: Glenn Moore (Black Ferns)
New Zealand Rugby Women's Player of the Year: Sarah Goss (Manawatu)
Kelvin R Tremain Memorial Player of the Year: Sam Whitelock
Team of the Year: Black Ferns