Seventeen people have put their hands up for Whangarei's Denby Ward byelection, but former councillor Jayne Golightly is not among them.

A byelection was called for Denby when Ms Golightly resigned early last month after being informed she is not a New Zealand citizen.

The resignation, less than a year into her tenure, means a byelection will be held in the Denby ward on December 7, at a cost of around $35,000.

At the time Ms Golightly vowed to get her citizenship and fight for re-election, but she is missing from the list of valid nominations received by the noon deadline today.


Those standing are: Geoff Abbott; Gavin Benney; Kathryn Darroch; Robert Diamond; Haydn Edmonds; Mike Henwood; Joby Hopa; Matt Keene; Chris Leitch; Huhana Lyndon; Kevin Newton; Hayward Norman; Yvette Poingdestre; Greg Shipton; Des Wallace; Merv Williams and Vanessa Wilson.

A postal ballot of the Denby Ward electors will start on November 15 with the delivery of voting documents.

Voting documents can be returned by post or hand delivered to the Whangarei District Council, Forum North, Rust Ave, November 15 and December 6, during normal office hours, and on December 7 until noon.

A person can apply to enrol as either a residential or ratepayer elector up to and including December 6 - the day before the close of voting. Results should be known on the evening of December 7.
The number standing is impressive, especially considering that there were no nominations received as of the end of business on Monday and four on Tuesday.