Former Green MP David Clendon has thrown his hat into the ring to replace Far North District councillor Willow-Jean Prime, who was elected to Parliament via the Labour list.

Mr Clendon, who lives in Kerikeri, resigned from the Green party list six weeks before the election, saying he had lost confidence in co-leader Metiria Turei after revelations of alleged benefit and electoral fraud in the 1990s.

Mr Clendon, 63, parted with Parliament without a plan of what to do next, but said he had decided to put his experience to use at a local level.

Read more:
17 to stand in Denby byelection


"There are too many missed opportunities and a lack of investment holding Northland back. This comes at considerable social and environmental cost ... I'd love to be part of creating more opportunities for our community to thrive."

If elected he would bring first-hand knowledge of the public and community sectors, small business ownership and education to the council table, he said.

Mr Clendon entered Parliament in 2009. During eight years as an MP his portfolios included commerce, sustainable business, tourism, environment, justice and tertiary education. He was party whip from 2014-17.

He has lived in Kerikeri since 2012 but his Northland roots go back to Captain James Clendon, New Zealand's first US Consul, who settled in the Bay of Islands in 1832 and later in Rawene.

He has Ngapuhi and Te Roroa whakapapa through James Clendon's second wife Jane Cochrane, the daughter of Dennis Cochrane and Takatowai Te Whata.

Other contenders for the position vacated by Mrs Prime include Waipapa motoring journalist Peter Gill, Kerikeri Ratepayers Association founder and Paihia Residents and Ratepayers Association secretary Jane Johnston of Haruru Falls, and retired civil engineer Fred Terry of Waipapa.

All three contested the 2016 local elections with Mr Gill challenging John Carter in the mayoral race.

Nominations for the position, one of four seats in the Bay of Islands-Whangaroa ward, will open on November 24 and close on December 22.

Voting in the postal ballot starts on January 26, 2018, and closes on February 17. The winner will be known that evening.