Russell Top 10 Holiday Park is one of five around the country named as finalists for a national award for mastering the art of turning an average holiday into a memorable one.

Hot Water Beach Top 10 Holiday Park (Whitianga), Whangateau Holiday Park (north of Auckland), All Seasons Holiday Park (Rotorua) and Kaikoura Peketa Beach Holiday Park are also contenders for the 2016 AA Traveller Spirit of Hospitality Award.

Earlier this year the Russell park was one of the first in the country to declare itself smokefree.

AA Tourism Publishing general manager Moira Penman said the award showcased examples of putting hospitality knowledge into practice, and going the extra mile for guests.


"Holiday parks are a Kiwi institution, and sometimes they can be remembered for the wrong reasons. These awards are a way to recognise those that go above and beyond, and highlight the ever-growing standard of New Zealand holiday parks," she said.

"Whether it's helping a 10-year-old achieve her Make a Wish dream of soaking in a hot pool on Hot Water Beach and sleeping under the stars, or driving stranded guests to their destination, each of these holiday parks know how to make their guests feel welcome and special, which is the mark of true hospitality."

The winner will be announced at the Holiday Parks Association of New Zealand conference in Rotorua on Wednesday.