Controversial Hawke's Bay District Health Board member, Jacoby Poulain has been ousted.

It is the second loss for Poulain, who narrowly missed out in the Hastings District Flaxmere ward, where she has been a councillor since 2010.

Fellow members; Kevin Atkinson, Peter Dunkerley, Ana Apatu and Heather Skipworth were re-elected.

Newcomers; Anna Lorck, and Hayley Anderson, along with previous board member, David Davidson round up the seven available positions.


Poulain did not respond to multiple requests for comment yesterday.

The preliminary results for the HBDHB were released late on Sunday afternoon - a day later than the initial council results, and largely due to the numbered voting system.

This year an unprecedented number of candidates stood for the HBDHB, with some of the senior board members including Barbara Arnott and Diana Kirton retiring after more than a decade of combined service.

In addition to the seven elected HBDHB board members, the Minister of Health appoints up to four members, along with the board's chair and deputy chair.

Hine Flood was appointed by the minister in 2016. This year she unsuccessfully ran for an elected position. Ngahiwi Tomoana, Helen Francis and Dan Druzianic did not stand in this year's elections.

The 25 candidates were a mix of incumbents, health professionals and people with skills outside the industry.

They included; Hayley Anderson, Paul Bebbington, Garry Brian, Annette Brosnan, Garth Cowie, James Crow, David Davidson, Trish Giddens, Leona Karauria, Rizwaana Latiff, Anna Lorck, Graeme Norton, Umang Patel, John Smith, Gerraldine Kelly Tahere, Hinenui Tipoki-Lawton, Claire Vogtherr, Julia Wilson, and Jason Whaitiri.

Current chairman, Atkinson again topped the poll, with more than 10,000 votes - a few thousand ahead of the others.


He had originally planned to retire from the HBDHB, but with the prospect of an inexperienced board, which will have as its first task the appointment of a new chief executive, Atkinson thought it prudent to run for a seventh term.

Speaking to Hawke's Bay Today after the results were released, Atkinson said the re-election of five members, including himself, gives the board good experience, and three new members will "add quite a lot".

"There are a number of those who haven't been successful that would have made very good board members as well." He said he would be trying to see if one or two of them can be appointed to the board through a ministerial appointment in the coming week.

Atkinson said he isn't "surprised" by Poulain not being elected.

The attempted uplift of a newborn baby from his mother, at Hawke's Bay Hospital in May, drew widespread criticism, and signalled the start of an ongoing rift between Poulain and her board, for her public outrage against the situation.

"I think it's disappointing the issues she created for herself over recent times but the fact that she hasn't attended any of the five last board meetings really would make people think twice about whether they would put her back there again," he said.


Lorck, who was previously a Labour Party Tukituki candidate in 2014 and 2017, said she is "thrilled" to have been elected to the board.

"I'm looking forward to being a strong regional advocate on health." She also looks forward to working with a diverse group of people - both experienced and new board members, who "each bring skills to the table".

Davidson, a retired Hawke's Bay obstetrician and gynaecologist, palliative care doctor and past DHB board member was prompted to stand by an increased awareness of flaws in health service systems.

Anderson has "real" experience in frontline clinical nursing, operational management, executive leadership and governance. She has been CEO of The Hastings Health Centre and GM Hohepa Homes Trust Board as well as a Board member with Hawkes Bay PHO, Te Matau a Maui Health Trust, board member Cranford Hospice since 2010 and chairwoman from 2013.