Wellington Saints created history going 20-0 for the season with a 108-75 win over the SIT Zerofees Sharks to claim their 10th title in the NBL final held at ASB Arena on Saturday.

Shea Ili scored a game high 31 points and Corey Webster tallied 27 points, eight assists, and seven rebounds for Wellington who have won five championships since 2010.

After a tight first quarter which saw the scores level at 21 apiece it would be all Saints who would win each of the final three quarters including a 34-17 fourth.

The Sharks took an early five point lead and when Saints forward Tai Wesley committed his third foul in the second quarter it presented the Sharks an opportunity to make a run.


A jump shot from Alex Pledger put the Sharks up 33-30 with four minutes left but six straight points from Webster and back-to-back threes from Ili and Jordan Ngatai put the Saints up 42-33.

After the break it would be all Wellington who outscored the Sharks 64-38. Wellington shot 15-27 from three (55 per cent) and dished out 22 assists and committed only seven turnovers.

Derone Raukawa came off the bench to score a team-high 15 points, Nick Kay added 14 points and 10 rebounds, and Pledger had a double-double of 10 points and 11 rebounds.
Ngatai scored 18 on 4/4 from three and Wesley 14 points, five assists and five rebounds.

Webster cleaned up with the awards, winning both guard awards, New Zealand most valuable player and overall MVP. Wesley was also overall forward of the year and Marcel Jones was named Stan Hill NZ forward of the year for two straight seasons.

Ili was named Finals Most Valuable Player and James Blond Supercity Rangers guard Mitch McCarron joined all four in the All Star Five.

Wellington Saints general manager Fran Scholey was named administrator of the year for her tireless work in creating in incredible culture, winning her third championship in four seasons as GM.

Kevin Braswell won coach of the year, after creating history with an unbeaten season, and has coached the side to back-to-back championships with a record 24 straight wins.

Southland Sharks social media person Nick Jeffries is media person of the year for the amazing content throughout the season. Christchurch Matt Bathurst was named referee of the year for the second straight seasons.


Final, Saturday

Wellington Saints 108 (Shea Ili 31, Corey Webster 27, Jordan Ngatai 18)
SIT Zerofees Sharks 75 (Derone Raukawa 15, Nick Kay 14, Mitch Norton 10)

Semifinals, Friday

Wellington Saints 94 (Tai Wesley 36, Shea Ili 18, Corey Webster 12)
Canterbury Rams 73 (Jeremy Kendle 25, McKenzie Moore 21, Marcel Jones 10)
SIT Zerofees Sharks 106 (Alex Pledger 24, Reuben Te Rangi 19, Hayden Allen 13)
James Blond Supercity Rangers 67 (Mitch McCarron 14, Earnest Ross Jr 10)