The Baywide Twenty 20 title comes down to Carrus Mount Maunganui and Eves Realty Greerton who face off in the decider at Fergusson Park tomorrow.

The sides qualified to square off in the Bay of Plenty Cricket Association's T20 final last weekend, with the final qualifying round still to be played early tomorrow afternoon.

Mount Maunganui and Greerton have banked enough points to go into battle, for the first Baywide title to be decided in 2019, with the nearest challengers - Element IMF Cadets - sitting out the round seven bye.

Defending champions Mount Maunganui won a battle of attrition with long-time rivals Cadets in last weekend's late afternoon round six, to grab a place in the final.


Cadets won the toss and, after asking their opponents to bat, appeared to be in the box seat when they rolled the Mount for 56. Mount Maunganui youngster Craig Baldry, then worked his spin attack to grand effect to dismiss five Cadets batsmen at a cost of just 10 runs, as Cadets were rolled for just 46.

Consistent success in Twenty 20 cricket relies primarily on the batsmen taking control, with both finalists having batsmen who like to take aim on the boundary ropes.

Greerton master batsmen Brett Hampton, sits a street ahead of the other T20 batsmen on the leader board, with 235 runs and a highest score of 155 from just two matches.

Hampton is a genuine game winner, however the Mount bowlers are likely to pay him special attention when he arrives at the crease

Pip Thickpenny, who has returned to the Greerton premier ranks after an injury break and Henry Collier both hold down places in the top five, while Lee Watkins, Nick Hendrie and skipper Shane Wineti have all been in solid form in Baywide cricket from season start.

Sitting second in the batting stakes is evergreen Mount Maunganui all-rounder Peter Drysdale, who can bat up and down the order with ease, with his measured approach to scoring runs.

Bay of Plenty representative Ben Musgrave, Dan Smith and Matt Golding also provide the defending champions with plenty of firepower.

The early afternoon final qualifying round see Mount Maunganui heavily favoured to defeat GM Painters Lake Taupo CC, with Greerton likely to cement their place at the top of the standings against Bond & Co Tauranga Boys' College.

Bragging rights will be on the line when New World Te Puke and Bayleys Central Indians meet in the other final qualifying match.

- Supplied content
BOPCA Twenty 20 at Fergusson Park on Saturday:
Round Seven: Lake Taupo CC v Mount Maunganui; Central Indians v Te Puke; Tauranga Boys' College v Greerton; Cadets the bye.

Baywide Twenty 20 Final, 3pm:
Points: Greerton 27; Mount Maunganui 24; Cadets 18; Lake Taupo CC 12; Central Indians 12; Te Puke 9; Tauranga Boys College 6.

BOPCA T20 Honours Board:
Centuries – 155 Brett Hampton v Te Puke (October 6, 2018).

BOPCA T20 Champions
2011/12 Tauranga Boys' College
2012/13 Tauranga Boys' College
2013/14 Rotorua Central
2014/15 Rotorua Central
2015/16 Otumoetai Cadets
2016/17 not played
2017/18 Mount Maunganui