It stands to reason that if you're World Rugby's Women's Sevens Player of the Year, a Commonwealth Games Gold medallist and a World Cup winner all in the space of 10 months, you're a strong chance to be Bay of Plenty Rugby's Supreme Award winner.

And that's how it came to be as 22-year-old Michaela Blyde, who is in Denver, Colorado with the Black Ferns Sevens preparing for the first tournament of the 2018-19 World Series, swept the big prizes at the Carrus Rugby Awards at ASB Stadium Lounge last night.

She was named as the Sports Person of the Year before taking out the Supreme Award.

"I was honoured to receive both of these awards considering the calibre of applicants that were up for these awards. I am proud to represent Bay of Plenty not just on a national stage but internationally as well," said Blyde from Colorado.


Partner Aidan Ross, who suffered a horrific season-ending ankle injury when playing for the Chiefs against the Hurricanes in April, accepted on her behalf.

The success of the Bay of Plenty Under-19 team winning the Jock Hobbs Memorial National tournament at Taupo was recognised with them winning the Representative Team of the Year.

But it might have been a close decision as the Bay of Plenty Under-18 girl's team, which also had an undefeated season and won both the Northern Region and Chiefs Region competitions, were the other finalists.

Under-19s coach Mike Rogers was honoured as the Representative Coach of the Year.

It's been a year of extraordinary achievement for Blyde, the New Plymouth-born speedster.

She relinquished the try-scoring crown in the 2017-18 World Series to teammate Portia Woodman but was still the World Series Player of the Year.

Michaela Blyde breaks away from the defence in the match against New Zealand during day one of the 2018 Sydney Sevens at Allianz Stadium in January. Photo / Getty Images
Michaela Blyde breaks away from the defence in the match against New Zealand during day one of the 2018 Sydney Sevens at Allianz Stadium in January. Photo / Getty Images

In November she was awarded World Rugby's prestigious prize at a glittering ceremony in Monaco, before being part of the Mount Maunganui-based team that won the gold medal at the Gold Coast Commonwealth Games in a tense final over Australia. Four months later the team went on to win the World Cup in San Francisco.

Mitch Karpik, named on Tuesday in the New Zealand Maori team for the tour to North and South America starting next week, was the Steamers Player of the Year as well as the Players' Player of the Year.


Aidan Ross may have had a frustrating injury-ravaged year but his immense off-the-field contribution was recognised. He was presented with the Community Service Award after volunteering to work as an assistant coach of the Bay of Plenty Under-16s.

One of the Bay of Plenty stars from the gold medal winning girls sevens team at the Youth Olympics in Buenos Aires earlier this week was also among the prize winners. Tynealle Fitzgerald was named as the Female Club Player of the Year.

The Bay of Plenty Volcanix, who retained their place in the Farah Palmer Cup Premiership, awarded Sapphire Tapsell their Player of the Year while loose forward Kendra Reynolds was the Volcanix Player's Player of the Year.

2018 Carrus Bay of Plenty Awards:

Community Awards:

Vodafone Service to Sport:

Katie & Bryan Meyer, Geoff McNaughton, Jimi McLean

Secondary School Awards:

Toi Ohomai Secondary School Programme of the Year: Te Puke High School

Bethlehem Coachlines Secondary School Coach of the Year: Dean Heybloom (Te Puke High School)

Club Awards:

Grassroots Trust Administrator of the Year: Selena Syme - Central BOP Rugby Sub-Union, JAB/JMC & Kahukura Rugby JAB

Vodafone Female Club Player of the Year: Tynealle Fitzgerald - Rangiuru Sports Club

Vodafone Male Club Player of the Year: Kane Le'aupepe - Te Puke Sports

Farmlands Co-operative Club Team of the Year: Rangiuru Mens Premier team

Vodafone Club Coach of Year: Aidan Kuka - Te Puna Premier Coach

R80 Highly Recommended Club Team of the Year: Ruatoki Sports & Cultural Club

R80 Club of the Year: Te Puke Sports & Recreation Club

Representative Awards:

Samurai U15 Player of the Year: Josiah Lewis

Samurai U16 Player of the Year: Filipe Vakasiuola

Samurai U18 Boys Player of the Year: Nikki Jacobs

Samurai U18 Girls Player of the Year: Julia Florence

One Foundation Te Waiariki Player of the Year: Bailey Gordon

Classic Builders Bay of Plenty U19s Player of the Year: Kaleb Trask

Distinction Hotels Men's Sevens Player of the Year: Ngarohi McGarvey-Black

TECT Women's Sevens Player of the Year: Les Elder

DVS Volcanix Forward of the Year: Christie Yule

DVS Volcanix Back of the Year: Jade Tuilaepa

Samurai Volcanix Team Award (Players Player): Kendra Reynolds

DVS Volcanix Player of the Year: Sapphire Tapsell

Aquaheat Steamers Forward of the Year: James Lay

Horizon Energy Group Steamers Back of the Year: Liam Steel

Craigs Investment Partners Steamers Rookie of the Year: Kane Le'aupepe

Samurai Steamers Team Award (Players Player): Mitch Karpik

Good Buzz Steamers Player of the Year: Mitch Karpik

Vodafone Player Community Service Award: Aidan Ross

Lion Foundation Representative Coach of the Year: Mike Rogers

NZCT Representative Team of the Year: Bay of Plenty Under 19's

WASPS Emerging Representative Player of the Year: Bailey Gordon

Tauranga City Council Sports Person of the Year Award: Michaela Blyde

Carrus Supreme Award: Michaela Blyde