Greerton Marist have taken another win, beating Tauranga Sports 31 to 24 in their Anzac Day clash at Greerton Park.

It was Tauranga Sports' lack of discipline which allowed Greerton to make the most of opportunities available to them throughout the game and take the win.

Before yesterday Greerton were sitting in eighth place but their latest win, only days after beating defending champions Mount Maunganui 21-17 at the weekend, means they will move up the ladder.

Tauranga Sports coach Culum Retallick was "reasonably happy" with how his team played but acknowledged they let too much go in the game, citing a lack of discipline as their major error.


He believed the first half went well but the second half was where they gave away the ball, allowing Greerton to make the most of open opportunities.

Retallick wasn't too worried about yesterday's loss because his team still have time to make the next round.

He said in the first round about 35 players had been given a taste of premier-level rugby, which would help them going into the second round - and this was their focus for the remainder of this first round.

"It's good to give guys an opportunity," Retallick said.

Going forward, Retallick said they would continue to work on discipline.

"We have to win at least one or two games to make the next round."

Farmlands Co-operative Baywide Premier
Rotoiti 25 v Whakarewarewa 17
Greerton Marist 31 v Tauranga Sports 24
Paroa 20 v Whakatane Marist 5
Rotoiti v Whakarewarewa at Emery Park
Te Puna 80 v Ngongotaha 12
Te Puke Sports 80 v Arataki 0

Farmlands Co-operative Baywide Premier Development
Rotoiti 33 v Whakarewarewa 14
Tauranga Sport 54 v Greerton Marist 27
Paroa 27 v Whakatane Marist 14
Rotoiti v Whakarewarewa at Emery Park
Te Puna 50 v Ngongotaha 15
Te Puke Sports 69 v Arataki 19


Farmlands Co-operative Baywide Division One
Kahukura 24 v Judea 15
Te Teko 45 v Murupara 31
Waikite 39 v Ruatoki 21
Marist St Michael's 18 v Opotiki 18
Waimana v Rangiuru at Waimana Domain
Poroporo 38 v Papamoa 14

Central Bay of Plenty Senior Reserves
Eastern Pirates 20 v Taupo 12
Marist St Michael's 24 v Reporoa 13
Waikite v Reporoa - Waikite win by default

Eastern Bay of Plenty Senior Reserves
Edgecumbe 34 v Te Teko 20
Opotiki 60 v Ruatoki 17
Matata - Bye