Angela Warren-Clark flew to Wellington today as her career as a new Labour list MP begins in earnest.

Mrs Warren-Clark said she spent most of the day tidying up her desk at Tauranga Women's Refuge and grabbed the chance to buy a few groceries for her husband Blair and their family pets.

She expected to be in Wellington for two to three days. She would attend a new MPs' induction course on Tuesday followed by a Labour caucus meeting.

Read more: Newest Labour MP Angie Warren-Clark 'keen to get stuck in'
Nervous wait for Bay of Plenty Labour list candidate


Mrs Warren-Clark said she might have to stay longer depending on the outcome of NZ First leader Winston Peters' coalition talks with Labour and the National Party.

"It's now starting to feel more real and I can't wait to get to Parliament. I'm excited and a bit nervous all at the same time," she said.

Mrs Warren-Clark joins Labour list MP Jan Tinetti in Parliament.

Ms Tinetti said it was "really exciting" both on a personal level and politically to have two strong representatives from Tauranga in Parliament.

Labour list MP Angie Warren-Clark flew to Wellington today ahead of her first day in Parliament. Photo/George Novak
Labour list MP Angie Warren-Clark flew to Wellington today ahead of her first day in Parliament. Photo/George Novak

"We [the Labour Party] have gone from zero representatives in the Bay of Plenty to having three MPs, including Tamati Coffey, who won the Waiariki seat. That's a fabulous result.

"It was something we all hoped for, and it will definitely make a big difference to have three strong voices advocating for our city and region in Parliament," she said.

Final Election Results

Tauranga electorate
Candidates Party votes
Simon Bridges: 21,499 National: 21,182
Jan Tinetti: 10,247 Labour: 10,737
Clayton Mitchell: 4829 NZ First: 4523
Emma Hodges: 1935 Greens: 1562
Joseph Borrell: 267 Maori Party: 211
Stuart Pedersen : 205 Act NZ: 242
Ben Rickard: 64 United Future: 40
Rusty Kane: 72 Independent
Yvette Lamare: 50 Independent
Hugh E Robb: 49 Independent
Jason Jobsis: 33 Democrats for Social Credit: 14

Bay of Plenty electorate
Candidates Party votes
Todd Muller : 25, 352 National: 23,164
Angela Warren-Clark: 11,356 Labour: 10,817
Lester Gray: 4056 NZ First: 4568
Raewyn Bennett: 563 Maori Party: 214
Bruce Carley: 195 Act NZ: 206

Waiariki electorate seat:
Tamati Coffey: 12,362 Labour Party : 14,144
Te Ururoa Flavell: 10,643 Maori Party: 4730
Act NZ: 19
Aotearoa Legalise Cannabis Party: 168
Ban1080: 64
Conservative: 15
Democrats for Social Credit: 6