Bay of Plenty will take the Hawke Cup into next year's NZ Cricket competition after retaining the prestigious minor association prize when the fourth and final challenge of the season ended in a rain-affected draw against Southland.

After a slightly delayed start on Friday at the Bay Oval, Mount Maunganui, the South Island visitors batted first after winning the toss.

At 113 for the loss of five wickets, the early momentum lay with the home side but by stumps on day one Southland had reached 187/5 with Jason Domigan on 73 not out.

The recuperative powers at the Bay Oval at Mount Maunganui were on display on day two.


Continuous overnight and morning rainfall made the chances of play unlikely but Southland resumed batting at 2.10pm.

Bay of Plenty's bowlers struck quickly taking five wickets in the first hour's play. Domigan continued on from his overnight total of 73 before he was given out hit wicket for 82.

Southland were eventually removed for 247 just before tea. Jono Boult was the best of the bowlers taking 3-44.

The Southland bowlers struck early, grabbing their first wicket with just 16 on the board and the second at 30. Bad light stopped play early with Bay of Plenty in some trouble at 70-3.

Southland continued on from where they left off on the final morning, grabbing two quick wickets to have the Bay five down with just 95 runs on the board. Boult and Sean Davey stood firm and set about getting their side back into contention for first innings points.

The players were on and off the field several times due to the continuing rain.

Bay of Plenty reached 157/5 at tea before the heavens opened again with the match eventually declared a draw late Sunday afternoon. Boult finished on an unbeaten 38 with Davey 32 not out.

Southland 247 (JM Domigan 82, SM Fitzgibbon 33, JDYK Ng 23, JB McKenzie 22, JF Mockford 22: JJ Boult 3/44; BR Hampton 2/41, TC Goodin 2/60) Bay of Plenty 157/5 (JJ Boult 38no, SB Davey 32no, RPO Drysdale 28; JL Osbourne 2/26, BJ Andrews-Kennedy 2/45)
Result: Match Drawn