Western Bay District Council has a new deputy mayor - Mike Williams.

The Katikati-Waihi beach ward councillor was appointed as deputy mayor today.

Mayor-elect Garry Webber said he chose Mr Williams because of the depth of experience gained over three consecutive terms, his qualification as a commissioner and his knowledge across a range of issues.

During his time on district council Mr Williams has served on various committees including Operations, Regulatory Hearings, Community (chair) Annual Plan and Long Term Plan sub-committee, Finance and Risk and Police and Strategy.


He was a council member on the SmartGrowth Implementation Committee, the Joint Governance Committee of Tauranga City and Western Bay councils, Te Komiti Maori and has served on the community boards of Katikati and Waihi Beach.

Mayor-elect Webber also changed the committee structure.

Mr Webber wanted to people to see a tangible change in the way council operated.

He said he would be ensuring council delivered a stronger rural focus, a closer ear on community concerns, and a more inclusive leadership style.

The new structure matched up with his commitment to be open, transparent, responsive to the community and inclusive of the people's voice, he said.

His choice of chairs was "based on each individual councillor's skill set they bring to council and their expertise in relation to their committee's role."

"We have a lot of work to do and I have confidence that with the experience of returning councillors and the fresh thinking of newly elected members we will be working really hard to meet the needs of our communities."

Garry's committee structure includes:
Deputy Mayor Mike Williams
Community Committee: Chair Peter Mackay, Deputy Chair Margaret Murray-Benge
Long Term Plan & Annual Plan Committee: Chair John Scrimgeour, Deputy Chair Peter Mackay
Operations/Monitoring Committee: Chair Don Thwaites, Deputy Chair John Palmer
Policy Committee: Chair Mike Williams, Deputy Chair David Marshall
Rural Committee: Chair Kevin Marsh, Deputy Chair Mark Dean.

Appointees to Community Boards are:
Waihi Beach Community Board: David Marshall and Mike Williams
Katikati Community Board: Peter Mackay and Mike Williams
Omokoroa Community Board: Margaret Murray-Benge and John Palmer
Te Puke Community Board: Grant Dally and John Scrimgeour
Maketu Community Board: Kevin Marsh and John Scrimgeour
SmartGrowth appointees: John Scrimgeour, Don Thwaites, Garry Webber and Mike Williams