Tauranga's newest councillors were sworn in today and deputy mayor Kelvin Clout was revealed at the first inaugural council meeting.

Video unavailable
Sorry, this video could not be played.

People were invited to attend the meeting of the new Tauranga City Council from 1pm.

The council meeting will include a swearing in ceremony at council chambers and speeches from new Mayor Greg Brownless and councillors.

The results of the Tauranga City Council elections were released on October 8.


Former councillors Larry Baldock and Terry Molloy were elected into the council this year after not being successful in the previous election.

Newcomer and former Chamber of Commerce chief executive Max Mason was also elected.

Existing councillors Leanne Brown, Steve Morris, Catherine Stewart, Kelvin Clout, Rick Curach and Gail McIntosh will also be sworn in.

The first official meeting of the new council will be held on November 22, when elected members will adopt their code of conduct, standing orders and the governance structure.

The first normal business council meeting will be held on December 6.