Matt Hewitt (Mount Maunganui) and Britt Kindred (Mur) have claimed the final event of the New Zealand Pro Series at Hawke's Bay on Sunday, winning their respective Open Men's and Women's Divisions at the Backdoor BayBash.

The final day of the event was relocated from Waimarama Beach to the right-hand point break of Te Awanga after the day dawned with clean lines of up to 1.0m running down the point. The swell faded throughout the day but conditions were clean and the point break options offered up some excellent scoring opportunities.

Hewitt finished the final with an 18.13-point heat total to claim the title but it was a slow start for the New Zealand representative that had him worried early in the final.

"She was a bit of a slow start today, I only got my first wave with 12 minutes to go in the final but when you actually got the waves they were good," said Hewitt.


"I am stoked to win the Backdoor BayBash, it has been a long time since I have won anything so that makes the trip down all the more better."

The Open Women's Division final was more of a head-to-head battle with Kindred fighting for the title against Raiha Ensor (Mount Maunganui). Kindred eventually got the nod with a 15.03-point heat total over Ensor's 14.53.

Finishing third in the final was Billie Scott (Whangarei) ahead of triple finalist Saffi Vette (Gis) in fourth.

Jonas Tawharu (Mount Maunganui) surfed to a perfect 10-point ride to clinch the Under-20 Boys Division.

After a move further up the point, Tawharu swung on one of the best waves of the day and unleashed a seamless five-turn combination on his backhand to get the perfect score. Tawharu finished with a 16.0-point heat total.

Tawharu eclipsed Taylor Hutchison (Rag) in second, Callum Chuter (Mount Maunganui) in third and Andrew Fraser - Mackenzie (Mount Maunganui) in fourth.

Kai Woolf (Gis) had a victorious return to New Zealand waters after spending the entire winter in her South African homeland but returning to claim the Under-20 Girls Division.

Woolf posted a 12.90-point total in the final to beat her good friend Saffi Vette (Gis) in second, Georgia Wederell (Mount Maunganui) in third and Billie Scott (Whangarei) in fourth.

Piha's Shane Kraus claimed his first national win of the year in the Under-17 Boys Division. Kraus defeated New Zealand representatives Jared Gebert (Ohope) and Lee Ririnui (Mount Maunganui) who finished in second and third respectively with Whakatane surfer Jack Lee in fourth.

Raiha Ensor (Mount Maunganui) claimed one of two finals she contested in the Under-17 Girls Division. Ensor was far too strong for her opponents, posting 12.83 out of a possible 20 points for the win. Kai Woolf (Gis) placed second in the final ahead of Saffi Vette (Gis) in third and Gabi Paul (Piha) in fourth.