Tauranga residents have the chance to do their homework before heading to the local body elections this October.

Three election events are being held in September to introduce residents to the city's future leaders.

Run by Tauranga Chamber of Commerce the events would provide a platform to get to know mayoral and city council candidates and question them on their vision for the city.

Chamber CEO Stan Gregec said Tauranga was at a critical point in the city's future and the stakes were high.


"More than anything, it seems to me, we need strong leadership and vision to take Tauranga into its next stage of maturity.

"Are we going to become the bold, aspirational city of the future, or will we stay stuck and stunted with our current less than impressive achievement?" Mr Gregec said.

The first event was geared towards Tauranga's younger voters. On September 15th at the Mauao Performing Arts Centre mayoral candidates would face off with young people.

"It's more informal. The younger generation likes to know more about the person not just what they promise to get done," Chamber special projects manager Anne Pankhurst said.

Questions would be asked of each of the eleven mayoral candidates and then questions would be open from the floor.

The second event was a mayoral debate, held on September 20 at Tauranga Art Gallery.

Slightly more formal, the debate would see mayoral candidates answering a range of questions within a time frame with Q and A from the floor at the end.

The final event, on September 22, would be for all city council candidates - except those only running for mayor.

Five candidates at a time would take the stage to answer a question. Once all candidates had a turn questions would be open from the floor.

Mr Gregec said the Chamber was hosting these election forums as part of its commitment to raise levels of awareness and the quality of discussion on the issues that affect the city.

"As far as the local body elections go, the Chamber takes a politically neutral stance, favours no individual candidates, and see itself as an honest broker in facilitating public debate and discussion," he said.

Mayor (1 seat)
Larry Baldock
Greg Brownless
Kelvin Clout
Murray Guy
Hori BOP Leaming
Max Mason
Steve Morris
Doug Owens
Noel James Paterson
Graeme Purches
John Robson

At Large (4 seats)
Geoffrey Brown
Tony Christiansen
Kelvin Clout
Antoine Coffin
Matt Cowley
Rick Curach
Alan Davidson
Max Mason
Gail McIntosh
Kevin Millin
Grayson Ottaway
Noel James Peterson
Hugh E Robb
John Robson
Mark Wassung

Mount Maunganui-Papamoa Ward (2 seats)
Leanne Brown
Bob Harnor
Steve Morris
Peter Stanley

Otumoetai-Pyes Pa Ward (2 seats)
Larry Baldock
Bev Edlin
Graeme Moore
Sheldon Nesdale
Catherine Stewart
Jo West

Te Papa-Welcome Bay (2 seats)
Sam Bailey
Bill Grainger
Murray Guy
Hori BOP Leaming
Jesse Misa
Terry Molloy
Brian Oxley