The Bay of Plenty District Health Board elections will be hotly contested this year with 20 candidates contesting the seven seats available.

Voters from throughout the board area, which consists of the Kawerau, Opotiki, Tauranga, Western Bay and Whakatane council areas, will decide who gets the seven positions.

In addition, following the election, the Minister of Health will appoint a further four members, making a total of 11 members per board.

All but one of the current elected board members have put their name forward again.
David Stewart is not standing for re-election. Current councillors Geoff Esterman, Judy Turner, Mark Arundel, Marion Guy, Matua Parkinson and Yvonne Boyes are seeking re-election.


Current deputy chairman Ron Scott, who was appointed by the Minister of Health last term, is also seeking election.

Mark Arundel
Yvonne Boyes
Ron Chamberlain
Bev Edlin
Geoff Esterman
Richard Forster
Ron Fyfe (Independent)
Carole Gordon (Independent)
Marion Guy
Callum Hunter (A Fresh Voice)
Yvette Nora Lamare (Independent)
Rob Moncrieff
Kirsten Marie Murfitt (Independent)
Jane Nees
Peter Nicholl
Matua Parkinson
Janet Peters
Hylton Rhodes
Ron Scott (Independent)
Judy Turner