Rangataua Sports upset home team Mount Maunganui Sports 35-33 at Blake Park this afternoon to claim their first ever Baywide Premier 1 title.

Since 1990 when the Baywide competition began the proud club based at Te Ariki Park in Maungatapu, Tauranga, have made just one other final.

But there was no stopping the team captained by Matt Clutterbuck this time.

Rangataua jumped out to a 24-10 halftime lead they stretched to 35-26 before the Mount scored a late try to ensure a tension-filled final three minutes.


Rangataua Sports 35 (Alex Jessop, Timoti Gardiner, Julian Macleod, Teina Hika, Paranihi Lovett tries; Jessop 2 cons, pen) Mount Maunganui Sports 33 (Tamanui Hill 2, Pera Gibbs, Jonty Wood, brynn Uriarau tries; Gibbs 4 cons) HT: 24-14

In the other Baywide division finals Paroa upset favourites Whakarewarewa 21-10 in Rotorua to claim the Premier 2 title while home team Judea lost to Te Teko 23-13 after 20 minutes of extra time.

Waimana beat Murupara 38-15 in the Division Two final, Tauranga Sports beat Mount Maunganui 28-11 in the Development One final in the early game at Blake Park and Opotiki beat Waikite 34-17 in Development Two final.