For the seventh time in seven seasons, Katikati reached the final of the 2016 McNaughton Trophy, once again showing their ability to rise to the occasion.

Katikati will play Sangha XI after Sunday's semifinals at Fergusson Park.

Defending champions Katikati batted first against Greerton and reached 204/8 in their turn at bat. Katikati were on their way to a big score, however two run outs cost the current champions some momentum.

Jamie Davies top scored with a hard fought 53, with veteran Katikati all-rounder Ben Warren chipping in with a handy 34 runs. Joeli Kurisi was the best of the Greerton bowlers taking two wickets at a cost of 37 runs. Katikati, who always seem to rise to the occasion in McNaughton Trophy cricket, were quickly into stride with their bowling attack and had Greerton under pressure. Despite several sixes from the bat of Lance Staiger, Greerton were bowled out for 170 to hand Katikati their seventh straight McNaughton Trophy final berth.


In contrast it will be Sangha XI's first final appearance, their place in the decider coming after they beat former McNaughton heavyweights Mount Maunganui.

Mount Maunganui took first use of the batting crease and posted 182/6.

Led by an unbeaten knock of 54 by Vikas Tiwari, the Sangha side got home for victory with five wickets to spare.

GS Gargan also made a solid contribution to his team's victory with 32 runs.

The origins of the Baywide Reserve Grade prize come from the donation by the McNaughton Family in Te Puke of a trophy forcompetition between secondtier teams from the Tauranga and Te Puke sub-associations.

A number of years ago the competition was expanded to include all Reserve and B Grade sides in Bay of Plenty cricket and is effectively the Baywide Reserve Grade Championship.

Semifinal results:

Katikati 204/8 (Jamie Davies53, Ben Warren 34; JoeliKurisi 2-37, Bobby Tagore2-52)defeated Greerton 170

Mount Maunganui 182/6 lost to Sangha XI 184/5 (Vikas Tiwari 54no, GS Gargan 32)