Tauranga's national class sprinters showed a clean pair of spikes at the Athletics Tauranga club night on Tuesday.

Club championship ttiles were decided for hurdles and 200m across various age groups.

Reigning national 100m champion Kodi Harman took out the SM 200m title from Scott Murfitt with a time of 21.79 sec.

Harman also won a non-championship 100m in a class field in 10.78 sec from Ethan Holman M18, Murfitt and Thomas Rawstrom M20.


Brooke Somerfield W20 won her grade title over 200m in 25.13 sec and recorded a time of 12.09 sec for 100m, heading home former New Zealand champion Mariah Ririnui SW by 0.34 sec.

Amy Robinson won the SW 100m hurdles title with Charlotte Mangos W18 second.

In the 80m hurdles, Petra Gough W18 won the crown in 14.13 sec from the Davie sisters who both took their grade titles. Arleah Tippins W18 ran a good 1500m in 5.15.76.

She tucked in behind Sean Banks M20 until the bell for the final lap when she took the lead decisively, opening up and increasing a gap to the finish.

Banks hung on for second place but was strongly challenged in the home straight by Ian Pugh M10, veteran Gavin Smith M60 and Mia Pugh W14.

Smith revelled in the competition from the young runners, recording easily his best time for the distance this season.

2016 Club Champions: 80m Hurdles: W18 P Gough, W14 A Davie, W12 J Davie; 100m Hurdles: W18 C Mangos, SW A Robinson; 200m: W8 E Pugh, W12 J Davie, W13 L Devine, W14 M Pugh, W18 P Gough, W20 B Somerfield, M9 E Pugh, M10 I Pugh, M14 J Tisch, SM K Harman, MM60 G Smith, MM65 M Clarkson.