A tied result in the Reserve Grade encounter between Tauranga Boys' College and defending titleholders Katikati and two big centuries in a B Grade game highlighted the Western Bay of Plenty Cricket championship title races on Saturday.

Tauranga Boys' batted first against Katikati and were bowled out for 141, with Marcel Collett top scoring with 53. Jamie Paton grabbed a four-wicket bag, while Gene Darvill took three wickets at cost of just a solitary run.

A stunning catch removed the last Katikati batsman with the match ending with the scores tied on 141. Ben Warren worked hard for his side's top score of 30, with Craig Baldry returning 3-27 for Tauranga Boys'.

Te Puke Reserves continued their unbeaten start to the second half of the season, with a solid win against Sikh Sports. Te Puke batted first and, led by a half century from Denym Clarke, were bowled out for 223. A four-wicket bag from Te Puke bowler Johnny Coulter led the way, as the local side removed Sikh Sports for 217 to take out a narrow six-run win.


WBOPCA Shield winners Greerton joined Te Puke at the top of the table, with a hard fought victory against Cadets. Long-time Greerton player Murray Jarvis showed his younger team mates some rare batting skills, top scoring with an unbeaten 45, with Josh Christensen taking three wickets for Cadets. Led by a three wicket bag from Jarvis, Greerton restricted Cadets to 185/5, with Ben Pamment (55), Ben Jensen (45) and Chris Norton (36) getting the runs for Cadets.

The Sangha XI gave Geyser City Sports a cricket lesson at Fergusson Park. The Western Bay Indian team were removed for 223 and then rolled the Rotorua representatives for 97 for a 126 run victory. Mount Maunganui posted 166 against Whakatane United and then bowled the home side out for 144 to grab the victory.

Lance Steiger led Greerton B Grade to 293/7 against Cadets when he powered his way to a big century before finally being caught for 147. Cadets weren't fazed by the big target, with Raymond Howe also smashing his way to a big three figure score of 151, as Cadets got home with two wickets in hand.

Mount Maunganui joined Cadets on the top of the standings defeating the Singh XI with Albion and Wanderers having a battle royal before Wanderers clinched victory with three wickets to spare.

WBOPCA Reserve Grade results:

Tauranga Boys' College 141 (Marcel Collett 53, Jamie Payton 4-22, Gene Darvill 3-1) tied with Katikati 141 (Ben Warren 30, Craig Baldry 3-27)

Sangha XI 203 (Vik Tiwari 44, Vikas Mohan 36, Sean Ingram 3-28) defeated Geyser City 97 (Kane Vanner 44, GS Gagan 5/9, LS Bhatti 3/36)

Te Puke 223 (Denym Clarke 58, Kurt Lansdown 41, Gurwinder Singh 5-53) defeated Sikh Sports 217 (Sukhdeep Singh 49, Sunil Gaur 40, Amripal Singh 30, Johnny Coulter 4-43)

Mount Maunganui 166 (George Signal 34, Brett Sharma 3-16, Hamish Wylde 3-27) defeated Whakatane United 144 (Sam Pulis 62, Richard Nillesen 33, Steve Charman 5-24, Jonty Rhodes 3-46)

Greerton 204/9 (Murray Jarvis 45no, Chann Lubana 36, Ben Lind 30, Josh Christensen 3-39) defeated Cadets 185/8 (Ben Pamment 55, Ben Jensen 45, Chris Norton 36, Murray Jarvis 3-28). Aquinas College the bye.

Points: Te Puke 40, Greerton 40, Sikh Sports 30, Tauranga Boys' College 30, Mount Maunganui 27, Geyser City 26, Sangha 23, Cadets 15, Katikati 10, Whakatane United 8, Aquinas College 3.

B Grade:

Albion 190/7 (Chris Uden 3-23) lost to Wanderers 192/7 (Chris Uden 47, Sam Tingey 31)

Singh XI 124 (Gurjant Singh 31, Reece Olson 4-29) lost to Mount Maunganui 126/2 (James Beale 62no, Mark McTamney 27no)

Greerton 293/7 (Lance Steiger 147) lost Cadets 294/8 (Raymond Howe 151). Grasshoppers the bye.

Points: Mount Maunganui 12, Cadets 12, Singh XI 6, Wanderers 6, Grasshoppers 0, Greerton 0, Albion 0.