New Zealand professional middleweight boxing champion Gunnar Jackson has added another notch to his belt by defeating awkward Auckland fighter Harry Venka at Tauranga Boxing Club's fight night.

Jackson was given a decent workout from the seasoned pro in a super middleweight non-title fight over six three-minute rounds on Saturday night.

The first round was relatively even with Jackson sneaking the round courtesy of throwing a few more punches.

The Tauranga fighter worked his way in to attack his opponent with his jab in round two, with Venka increasingly holding on to combat the repeated attacks.


During the break referee Dennis Enright gave Venka (also known as Venkatesan Harikrishnan) a verbal warning for his repeated holding, before Jackson further tightened the screws on his wary opponent. Round four followed the pattern of repeated Jackson attacks with Venka barely managing to hold on.

Venka was in danger of being disqualified during the break after round five, with the referee remonstrating with him as he wandered around the ring from his corner. He managed to answer the bell for the final round, in which Jackson worked his way to an easy unanimous decision topped off by a beautiful punch as the clock ticked down. The judges' shut out gave Jackson another big step forward as he heads towards bigger things in the ring.

Nine corporate bouts provided an entertaining build-up to the main attraction, with the best being the fast-paced women's welterweight stoush between Inge Whibley and Tatiana McIntosh.

Whibley won the decision in a thrilling performance, while Simon Sekona provided another highlight with his decision victory over fellow heavyweight Chris Harper.

Tauranga Boxing Club tournament results, November 9, 2013:

Super middleweight professional contest

Gunnar Jackson (Tauranga) defeated Harry Venka (Auckland) unanimous points decision

Corporate bouts:


Middleweight: Christen Thompson defeated Marshall McLeod - TKO

Light welterweight: Lisa Parker defeated Aroha Paitai - unanimous

Light heavyweight: Nathaniel Crawford defeated Aaron Wilton-Jones - unanimous

Lightweight: Candice Upperton defeated Kaye Perry - split decision

Light heavyweight: Justin Walsh defeated Tyrone Whittaker - split decision

Light heavyweight: Danika Stobie defeated Caitlin Ellis - unanimous

Welterweight: Nicolette Aldridge defeated Dianne Lewis - unanimous

Welterweight: Inge Whibley defeated Tatiana McIntosh - unanimous

Heavyweight: Simon Sekona defeated Chris Harper - unanimous