Scown crowned with top awards

By Jared Smith,

Wanganui's Olympic bronze medal rower Rebecca Scown has the icing on the cake for an excellent 2012 on the water.

The 29-year-old went back-to-back at the 2012 Property Brokers/Rivercity Livestock Wanganui Sports Awards last night, once again taking out the Wanganui Chronicle Supreme Award and the Gilbertson's Mitre 10 Mega Senior Sportsperson of the Year.

Scown saw off fellow Olympians rower Chris Harris, runner Lucy Van Dalen and powerlifter Sharnell Duncan to claim the prize.

Via a video message from Kenya, Scown acknowledged the efforts of her fellow nominees.

"Accolades aren't the driving factor to do what we do but it really is the icing on the cake to receive awards like this and to be recognised by your home town.

"It's taken a long time and a lot of training and there have been quite a few ups and downs."

Scown thanked her dedicated parents and her two siblings for "putting up with my inflexible training schedules".

As well as her bronze in London in the women's coxless pair with Juliette Haigh, Scown took silver at the World Rowing Cup 3 regatta in Munich and bronze at the World Rowing Cup 2 regatta in Lucerne.

She will be competing on home water at the Billy Webb challenge next month.

In other results on the night, football standout James Musa was the Cycle Sport NZ International Junior Sportsperson of the Year.

Splitting awards to international and national level this year, jockey Lisa Allpress was the NZCT National Senior Sportsperson of the Year, while sprinter Tom Symes took the Dub.Dee.See. Youth Committee National Junior Sportsperson of the Year title.

Results: Dub.Dee.See. Youth Committee National Junior Sportsperson: Tom Symes (Athletics); Cycle Sport NZ International Junior Sportsperson: James Musa (Football); NZCT National Senior Sportsperson: Lisa Allpress (Thoroughbred Racing); Gilbertson's Mitre 10 Mega International Senior Sportsperson: Rebecca Scown (Rowing); Stihl Shop Wanganui Club of the Year: Wanganui Multisport & Triathlon Club; Mars Petcare Coach of the Year: Dayle Cheatley (Cycling); Treadwell Gordon Junior Team of the Year: Wanganui Collegiate School Senior Boys Relay Team; Ali Arc Senior Team of the Year: Leighton and Kellie Minnell (Jetsprinting); Sports Edge Administrator of the Year: Lauren Tamehana (Waka Ama); Watkins Motors Masters Award: Allan Luff (Cycling); More FM Whistler of the Year: Matt Stoneman (Football); Infusion Catering Outstanding Conduct Award: Liam Wilsher (Rugby Union); Wanganui Chronicle Supreme Award: Rebecca Scown.

- Wanganui Chronicle

Get the news delivered straight to your inbox

Receive the day’s news, sport and entertainment in our daily email newsletter


© Copyright 2016, NZME. Publishing Limited

Assembled by: (static) on production bpcf05 at 28 May 2016 06:56:05 Processing Time: 818ms