Batsmen dominate T20 affair

By Gary Caffell


Bat generally had the better of ball in the opening series of matches in the Wairarapa Cricket Association's The Rock Twenty20 competition.

A1 Homes Kuranui Old Boys, Turkey Red Greytown and Red Star all got their campaigns away to a winning start and picked up the maximum four points.

Kuranui Old Boys managed 124 against Rathkeale College, largely thanks to a knock of 44 by Tony Russo. John Ryan was the pick of the students' bowlers with 3-26.

In reply, Rathkeale College made 118-8 with Harry Clinton-Baker reaching 43 and Zac Caldwell 33. Reece Lett took 3-13 bowling for Kuranui Old Boys.

Wairarapa senior rep Tim Lucas was in good form for Greytown when they batted first against Marist Old Boys, scoring 63. Also contributing well were Harry Greenwood (38) and Blake Lyford (30).

Marist Old Boys were 126-6 in their innings, Greg Dennes-Wilson making 43 and Robbie Speers 55. Greenwood completed a solid all-round performance for Greytown by taking 2-20.

Red Star and Wairarapa College had a closely-contested match with Red Star, winning by just seven runs. They made 154-6, of which John Wells provided a valuable 40, while Wairarapa College reached 147-5; Tim Griffith top scoring with 69 and Rob Crump making 38.

The draw for Twenty20 competition matches tomorrow night sees Lansdowne playing Kuranui Old Boys at Queen Elizabeth Park Oval, Rathkeale up against Marist Old Boys at Rathkeale and Greytown at home to Wairarapa College.

All games start at 5.15pm and umpires are Mark Elliott (Park Oval), Jamie Sprowson and David Lee (Rathkeale) and Johan Fourie (Greytown).

Umpire's Cup and open grade matches will continue on Saturday and the draw there is:

Senior (noon start): Lansdowne v Red Star at Park Sports 2 (B. Campbell and J. Fourie); Greytown v Rathkeale at Greytown (M. Elliott and H. Qualtrough); Wairarapa College v Marist Old Boys at Wairarapa College (C. Cogdale and D. Lee), Kuranui Old Boys - bye.

Open grade (1pm start): Rathkeale 2 v Marist Old Boys 2 at Rathkeale artificial, Greytown 2 v Wairarapa College Colts at Carterton artificial, Lansdowne 3 v Wairarapa College 2 at Park Sports 1, Lansdowne 2 - bye.


© Copyright 2014, APN New Zealand Limited

Assembled by: (static) on red akl_a4 at 21 Sep 2014 03:59:54 Processing Time: 298ms