Rugby: Wallabies duo set for debuts

Nick Cummins.  Photo / Getty Images
Nick Cummins. Photo / Getty Images

Uncapped wingers Nick Cummins and Dom Shipperley are in line to battle for a Wallabies debut after being named in a 31-man squad ahead of next Saturday's Rugby Championship clash against South Africa.

The training group will assemble in Perth on Sunday as they prepare to bounce back after being humbled 22-0 by New Zealand in Auckland last weekend.

Waratahs winger Drew Mitchell suffered a recurrence of an ankle tendon injury at Eden Park which ruled him out for the remainder of the season.

If Adam Ashley-Cooper retains his place at fullback in preference to Kurtley Beale, Cummins and Shipperley are set to fight it out for one winger's spot given Digby Ioane is a certainty for the other.

The closest Western Force utility back Cummins has previously come to a Wallabies jumper was in 2010 when the 24-year-old toured South Africa during the Tri Nations.

Shipperley enjoyed a breakout Super Rugby campaign with the Reds this season when the 21-year-old played every minute of all 17 matches and scored eight tries.

Waratahs prop Paddy Ryan and Queensland centre Ben Tapuai also join the squad, while Queensland back-rower Jake Schatz wasn't considered due to a shoulder injury.

The Wallabies will announce their 22-man squad for the Test at Patersons Stadium on Tuesday as they aim to repeat their World Cup quarter-final victory over the Springboks.

Australia will be also be looking to retain the Nelson Mandela Challenge Plate which they've held since a 41-39 win over South Africa at Bloemfontein in 2010.

Wallabies squad:

Adam Ashley-Cooper, Kurtley Beale, Digby Ioane, Dominic Shipperley, Nick Cummins, Rob Horne, Ben Tapuai, Anthony Faingaa, Mike Harris, Pat McCabe, Berrick Barnes, Quade Cooper, Nick Phipps, Will Genia (capt), Scott Higginbotham, Radike Samo, Michael Hooper, Liam Gill, Dave Dennis, Rob Simmons, Nathan Sharpe, Kane Douglas, Caderyn Neville, Sitaleki Timani, Ben Alexander, Paddy Ryan, James Slipper, Benn Robinson, Saia Faingaa, Stephen Moore, Tatafu Polota Nau.



Get the news delivered straight to your inbox

Receive the day’s news, sport and entertainment in our daily email newsletter

Stats provided by

© Copyright 2017, NZME. Publishing Limited

Assembled by: (static) on production bpcf02 at 26 May 2017 23:40:23 Processing Time: 265ms