Earthquake appeal commission launched

Five people have been appointed to the Canterbury Earthquake Appeal Commission to decide how the $3.5 million in donations will be distributed.

Former High Court judge Sir John Hansen of Rangiora will chair the commission, it was announced today.

The commission will comprise Mr Neil Cruickshank, Councillor for the Waimakariri District, Mr Michael McEvedy, former Mayor of the Selwyn District Council, Mr Norm Whithers, Deputy Mayor of Christchurch City Council and Mr Jerry Talbot, Counsellor of Honour and former chief executive of the New Zealand Red Cross.

The first meeting of the newly appointed commissioners was held this afternoon at the New Zealand Red Cross service centre in Christchurch.

According to a press release, the commission will be assigned the task of creating "terms of reference and disbursements of the Canterbury Earthquake Appeal", which has now reached $3.5 million in donations.

The Canterbury Earthquake Appeal is the single appeal fund receiving donations to support those affected by Saturday's earthquake in Canterbury.

- NZ Herald staff

© Copyright 2015, NZME. Publishing Limited

Assembled by: (static) on production apcf01 at 03 Jun 2015 04:23:51 Processing Time: 611ms