Flight of the Conchords sweep Music Awards

The Flight of the Conchords suffered multiple birdstrike at the Tuis - otherwise known as the 2008 Vodafone New Zealand Music Awards - winning four awards for their debut album, a number - matched only by local crowd-pleasers OpShop's equal haul, mostly for sales and radioplay.

The Conchords weren't there tonight to pick up the prizes - but their manager Murray sent us his acceptance speech.

Here's how the Class of 2008's prizegiving went ...

Nokia Album of the Year
Flight Of The Conchords for Flight Of The Conchords

Anika Moa - In Swings the Tide
Liam Finn - I'll Be Lightning
Scribe - Rhymebook
Tiki Taane - Past, Present, Future

Vodafone Single of the Year
Opshop - One Day

Liam Finn - Gather To The Chapel
Shihad - One Will Hear The Other
The Phoenix Foundation - Bright Grey
Tiki Taane - Always On My Mind

Steinlager Pure Best Group
Flight Of The Conchords - Flight Of The Conchords

Shihad - Beautiful Machine
The Phoenix Foundation - Happy Ending

Vodafone People's Choice Award
Parachute Band

Horsemen Family
Nesian Mystik
The DFenders

Best Male Solo Artist
Liam Finn - I'll be Lightning

SJD - Songs From A Dictaphone
Tiki Taane - Past, Present, Future

Mazda Best Female Solo Artist
Anika Moa - In Swings The Tide

Aaradhna - Sweet Soul Music
Annabel Fay - Annabel Fay

Kiwi FM Breakthrough Artist of the Year
Flight Of The Conchords - Flight Of The Conchords

Cut Off Your Hands - Blue On Blue
Tiki Taane - Past, Present, Future

C4 Best Music Video
Ian Hart - Her Hairagami Set (The Brunettes)

Carey Carter - Tangaroa (Tiki Taane)
Joe Lonie - Gather To The Chapel (Liam Finn)

PPNZ Best Rock Album
Shihad - Beautiful Machine

Liam Finn - I'll Be Lightning
The Phoenix Foundation - Happy Ending

Best Urban/Hip Hop Album
Scribe - Rhymebook

Mareko - White Sunday 2: The Book Of Mark
Young Sid - The Truth

Best Aotearoa Roots Album
Tiki Taane - Past, Present, Future

Katchafire - Say What You're Thinking
Kora - Kora

Best Dance/Electronica Album
Recloose - Perfect Timing

Magik Johnson - You Are Sound
Shapeshifter - Live

Best Maori Album
Ruia - 12:24 Tekau Ma Rua, Rua Tekau Ma Wha

Moana & the Tribe - Wha
Tiki Taane - Past, Present, Future

Best Gospel/Christian Album
All Left Out - The Conquest

Parachute Band - Roadmaps and Revelations
The Ember Days - Your Eyes Light Up

Best Classical Album
Michael Houstoun - Inland

Gillian Whitehead - Puhake ki te rangi
NZ Trio - Bright Tide Moving Between

The New Zealand Herald Legacy Award
Straitjacket Fits

International Achievement Award
Flight of the Conchords and Savage

Highest Selling Single
Opshop - One Day

Highest Selling Album
Opshop - Second Hand Planet

NZ On Air Radio Airplay Record of the Year
Opshop - Maybe


Flight of the Conchords: Four awards from three nominations (no finalists announced for international achievement).

Opshop: Four wins from one nomination (no finalists for sales and radioplay awards).

Tiki Taane: One from eight nominations.

Liam Finn: One from five nominations.

Shihad: One from three.

Anika Moa and Scribe: One from two.

- NZ Herald

Get the news delivered straight to your inbox

Receive the day’s news, sport and entertainment in our daily email newsletter


© Copyright 2017, NZME. Publishing Limited

Assembled by: (static) on production bpcf02 at 23 May 2017 15:25:59 Processing Time: 546ms