Bowls Whanganui Inc has chosen the men and women to represent them at the annual Intercentre Outdoor Bowls tournament in Christchurch this week.

Starting on Thursday, Wanganui will be among 25 bowls centres who have entered men's and women's teams, split into divisions of six from which the top two will go into their respective post-section play.

From post section, the winners will go into the knockout rounds to determine the champions.

"In past years, our teams have qualified and been unlucky not to win this prestige tournament, that has been run for the last five years," said Wanganui men's manager Mike Morgan.


"Wanganui has appointed new selectors for the senior men and women's representative players this season, so we have new-look teams selected.

"We look for a positive result."

The national tournaments will finish on Sunday.

The teams are

Men – Singles: Gavin Scrivener (Aramoho); Pairs: Ray Park (s) (Wanganui), Alan Dickson (Wanganui); Fours: Bruce Winterburn (Durie Hill), Kevin Coombe (Aramoho), Tony McCrae (Durie Hill), Allen Springer (Wanganui).
Coach/Selector: Keith Schultz. Manager: Mike Morgan.

Women – Singles: Dianne Patterson (Wanganui); Pairs: Elizabeth Anderson (s) (Laird Park), Maria Klitscher (Wanganui East); Fours: Reen Stratford (s) (Aramoho), Hannah Murray (Gonville), Jill Rohloff (Aramoho), Lesley Bourke (Wanganui).
Coach/Selector: Pauline Pirere; Manager: Desmond Pirere.