New youth council ambassadors for the Ruapehu region were sworn in at special ceremonies in Taumarunui and Ohakune among family and friends this week.

There are two groups of youth ambassadors in the Ruapehu Youth Council; they are Taumarunui-Ohura Youth Ambassadors (TOYA) and Waimarino-Waiouru Youth Ambassadors.

Ruapehu youth council co-ordinator Samantha Arthur-Curtis said she was impressed with the calibre of young people who had put themselves forward for these positions.

"They all demonstrate a genuine passion for their community and a desire to make a real difference to the lives of Ruapehu youth.


"I'm sure they will continue the fantastic legacy of achievement the earlier youth ambassadors have delivered."

The youth ambassadors will be taking part in some amazing events such as Festival for the Future while developing leadership and other skills.

They have a work programme ahead of them that includes project management training, creating an anti-bullying campaign and fundraising for the local Youth Fund.

Ms Arthur-Curtis said anyone interested in the work of the Ruapehu Youth Council can find more information on council's website

The 2018 WWYA are; Aaliya Dennison, Ashley Akapita, Dalton Jordan, Emma Burnard, Janine Francois, Jorja von Pein, Justice Dennison, Mac Madsen, Sapphire Mapp, Sophie Coller, Tayla Goff and Tiere Rapana.

The 2018 TOYA are; Anna Seby, Daisy Tumataroa, Dylin Dobbs, Hannah-May Johnston, Huia Rauhina, Jessy Gurnick, Jindh Bhullar, Kushia Siemonek and Shanae Ponen.