Northland features once again on awards lists as the finalists for New Zealand's Favourite Sporting Moment of 2017 have been announced for the 55th Halberg Awards.

Portia Woodman (Black Ferns and Black Ferns Sevens), Aleisha Nelson, Charmaine Smith, Victoria Subritzky-Nafatali (all Black Ferns), Blair Tuke and Andy Maloney (both Team New Zealand) have had their teams put in the running for the public-voted accolade.

The Black Ferns were the talk of the country as they won their fifth Women's Rugby World Cup, beating favourites England in an enthralling final 41-32.

Each of the Northlanders played big roles in the tournament, though perhaps none more so than Woodman.


The winger was the top try and point scorer in the competition, including picking up an eight-try haul against Hong Kong in a 121-0 rout.

Woodman and her Black Ferns Sevens teammates also had a strong year, taking out the World Rugby Women's Sevens Series after beating Australia in Clermont-Ferrand.

The Black Ferns Sevens gained a modicum of revenge on Australia, who had beaten them in the Rio Olympics final in 2016.

Meanwhile Tuke and Maloney were aboard the Team New Zealand boat that emphatically took out the America's Cup in Bermuda.

Tuke, a flight controller and cyclor, and Maloney, a cyclor, played important parts in the 7-1 victory over Jimmy Spithill's Oracle.

There are eight other moments in the running for the award. These were across seven different sporting codes.

Cricket provided two nominees after sublime batting performances at Seddon Park in Hamilton.

Martin Guptill belted 11 sixes in his innings of 180 against South Africa, leading the side to a seven-wicket win, while Ross Taylor equalled Martin Crowe and Kane Williamson in the test arena with his 17th century, brought up against the West Indies.

Rugby picked up another nod with Crusaders first five Mitchell Hunt's match-winning drop goal in injury time against the Highlanders the pick of plenty of top rugby moments.

Tennis player Michael Venus also made the grade as he became the first New Zealand male Grand Slam champion since 1974 when he and American Ryan Harrison won the French Open doubles title.

Brendon Hartley and Earl Bamber put themselves in elite company as they won the Le Mans 24-hour race despite at one point being second to last.

The Black Sox won the World Softball Championships for the seventh time when they defeated Australia in Canada.

Olympic bronze medal-winning shotputter Tom Walsh went to another level in 2017, becoming the first New Zealand male to win an IAAF track and field championship when he grabbed the gold at the IAAF World Track and Field Championships in London.

Lisa Carrington is the final nominee after winning the K1 200m gold medal for the fifth time at the World Canoe Sprint Championships in the Czech Republic.

The public can vote for their choice once a day by text message or online at The winner will be presented at the 55th Halberg Awards on Thursday February 8 at Spark Arena in Auckland and televised live on Sky Sport from 8pm.