Hadley Greenhalgh and Ella Gunson were two big winners at the Hockey Northland Awards Dinner.

The night was attended by just over 100 people including players, coaches, committee members, volunteers, partners and supporters.

Greenhalgh and Gunson picked up respective Representative Player of the Year accolades after strong campaigns for Northland.

Gunson in particular was in top form as she helped Northland to second at the National Hockey League tournament in Wellington.


Gunson doubled that award with the women's Peter Lawson Sportsperson of the Year Award. Adam Rafferty won the men's award of the same name.

Josefina Maratea was rewarded for her dedication on the sideline as she took home the Supporters Cup, while Sandra Nink won the Administrators Cup.

Melanie Oakden meanwhile joined Gunson as double winners on the night as she won both the Men's Grade and Women's Grade Umpires Award for her expertise and poise while officiating matches.

The Whangarei Hockey Stick Awards were also handed out, acknowledging stellar efforts from club players beyond the turf.

The winners must always display a high level of sportsmanship and assist in ways other than playing to help foster hockey at any level.

The two awards were won by Paul Croft and Pauline Johnson.

Hockey Northland also took the time to acknowledge team achievements during the 2017 season.

Northland picked up three gold medals from Taitokerau Tane (men), Taitokerau Wahine (women) and Collier Development, while Mark Cromie Holden NHL Women (silver) and New World Regent Collier Girls (bronze) also had strong performances.

Hockey also accounts for a few nominations for accolades at the 2017 Conbrio Northland Sports Awards.

The NHL Women are up for the Dudley and Dennis Team of the Year prize, with their coach Nathaniel Joy up for Pak 'n Save Coach of the Year.

Huanui College First XI Mixed also hope to back up a fantastic year with the Thermatech Junior Team of the Year, while umpires Oakden and Vicki Allen are up for the Pacific Motor Group Official of the Year.