Northland's national surfing champion, Tom Robinson has narrowly missed out on a win in the Under-14 Boys' division at the second instalment of the 2016 Billabong Grom Series.

Fighting his way to the finals with a rambunctious display of progressional surfing, the Whangarei youngster missed out on top honours by the slimmest of margins.

Posting a 6.27 point ride and successfully holding off Robinson with five minutes to go in the final, James Ririnui (Mt Maunganui) surfed to his first-ever win at national level.

Finishing fourth in the Under-20 Boys' division, first-time finalist Matt McGregor (Whangarei) surfed well in the deteriorating conditions at Whangamata to place behind eventual winner Dune Kennings (Whangamata).


Kennings won the premier Under-20 Boys' division alongside Gabriella Sansom, (Albany) who won the Under-20 Girls' division.

Surfing well in the Under-17 Girls' division, Whangarei's Billie Scott was once again in form and progressed to the semifinal stage before dipping out to finish in seventh place.

Northland surfers featured prominently at the second Billabong Grom Series of the year, and will be a force to be reckoned with at the last event at Piha, March 5-6.

Also surfing in Whangamata were Whangarei's Matthew Jensen, Max Brunker, Grace Pevats, and Jamahl Moselen, Ruakaka's Rhys Whitaker, Sandy Bay's Manu Scott Arrieta, Kerikeri's Joe Palmer, Waipu's Tom Norton, Mangawhai's Joseph Critchfield, and Kaitaia's Taj Broughton.