One of the most successful junior cricket events in the Bay of Plenty will be held at the Bay Oval and Blake Park on Wednesday, when the 13th Western Bay of Plenty Cricket Mini World Cup takes place.

The 2016 Western Bay Mini World Cup has received entries from primary schools from Pahoia to Pongokawa in an annual tournament that sees the big city school youngsters rubbing shoulders with their country cousins.

The Mini World Cup was initiated by Bay of Plenty Cricket in 2004 to introduce Year Five and Six pupils to the enjoyment of the game.

To give the competition a real flavour of international cricket, all school teams represent a cricket-playing nation.


However the best part of the day, is that many of the teams enter into the spirit of the occasion and dress up in the colours of the country they are representing. Outside the championship title, the most sought-after prize is the best uniform award.

Last year, Greenpark School won the title for the first time.

Greenpark School, playing in the colours of England, took on Tauranga Primary as Bangladesh after three preliminary rounds. England reached 67 in their turn at bat and restricted Bangladesh to 58, which gave Greenpark School the title.

St Mary's School won the inaugural cup in 2014 and have gone on to win the primary school tournament on five further occasions. Bethlehem College Primary were successful in the second tournament in 2005 and won again in 2007, with St Thomas More also winning on two occasions. Pillans Point Primary and Greenpark School round out the Western Bay Mini World Cup roll of honour.

Western Bay of Plenty Mini World Cup, Wednesday, 9.15am start.

Gate Pa Primary (New Zealand), Papamoa Primary (Australia), Golden Sands Primary (India), Mount Maunganui Primary (South Africa), Tauranga Primary (Sri Lanka), Greenpark Primary (England), St Thomas More (Bangladesh), Selwyn Ridge School (West Indies), Pongakawa School (Ireland), Bethlehem College Primary (Scotland), Pillans Point School (Zimbabwe), Te Ranga School (Canada), Te Akau Ki Papamoa (Kenya), Tahatai Coast School (Afghanistan), Pahoia School (United Arab Emirates), Arataki School (Namibia), Greenpark School (USA), Arataki School (Papua New Guinea), Golden Sands School (Hong Kong), Te Puke Primary (Pakistan), Te Puke Primary (Uganda), Omanu School (Bermuda), St Mary's School (Nepal), Papamoa Primary (Fiji).

Previous WBOP Mini World Cup Champions
2004 St Marys Two - 2005 Bethlehem College Primary - 2006 St Marys School - 2007 Bethlehem College Primary - 2008 St Marys Two - 2009 St Marys School - 2010 St Marys School - 2011 St Thomas More School - 2012 Pillans Point Primary - 2013 St Thomas More School - 2014 St Marys School - 2015 Greenpark School.