Some surprises on podium during round two

Round two of the New Zealand Jet Sprint Championships took place at the James and Son Aquatrack at Tauherenikau on Sunday, producing some unexpected results.

Round one winner Peter Caughey (Canterbury) was the man to beat in the Suzuki Superboat class, getting sub-50 second times leading up to the final.

During the race Caughey clipped a few banks and lost time, allowing Leighton and Kellie Minnell (Wanganui) to finish with 50.236 seconds, beating Caughey by 0.601 of a second.

Steve Bron (Feilding) took third place with 52.928.

Last round's runner-up, Pat Dillon (Wanganui), as well as Rob Coley and Ray Ferguson (Lower Hutt) were out on the grass during the elimination runs and were caught out by low water levels in the track.

Coley had a crash during his first qualifying run of the day but managed to get the boat running again.

Australian Superboat champion Greg Crusty Mercier had mechanical problems and did not get into his stride.

Sam Newdick (Hamilton) and Glen Mason won their second final in a row in PSP Group A with 53.65.

Aussie Paul Gaston came a narrow second, 53.91, with Richard Murray (Wanganui) taking third.

In the entry level JetPro 400 class Brett Thompson (Piopio) and Megan Brodie took their second final in a row, 58.41, ahead of Warren Farr (Taupo), 58.87, and Patrick Haden (Otorohanga), 59.35.

Whilst fine, hot conditions prevailed, a fault with the timing system and a leak in the track caused some problems.

The crews have a break until the third round at the Meremere Sprint Bowl on August 24.

Points: Suzuki Superboat Championship: Peter Caughey (Canterbury) 59 points, Leighton Minnell (Wanganui) 58 points, Steve Bron (Feilding) 54 points.

PSP Group A Championship: Sam Newdick (Hamilton) 60 points, Richard Murray (Wanganui), Paul Gaston (Queensland) 57 points, Bevin Muir (Thames) 52 points.

JetPro 400s: Brett Thompson (Piopio) 60 points, Warren Farr (Taupo) 55 points,

Gerry Linklater (Wanganui), Patrick Haden (Otorohonga) 53 points.


© Copyright 2014, APN New Zealand Limited

Assembled by: (static) on red akl_a4 at 17 Sep 2014 03:27:56 Processing Time: 632ms