UK political parties

Westminster Parliament has been dominated by the two-party system of a Government and an Official Opposition. In the 2001 general election the Liberal Democrats were the third largest party. 

All other minor parties are refered to as the opposition, which can include Independent candidates. One Independent MP was returned at the 2001 general election - Dr Richard Taylor (Wyre Forest).

2001 Election result and leaders

Labour 412 seats (Government)
Leader - Tony Blair

Conservatives 166 (Official Opposition)
Leader: Michael Howard

Liberal Democrats 52 (Opposition)
Leader: Charles Kennedy

© Copyright 2015, APN New Zealand Limited

Assembled by: (static) on production bpcf02 at 30 Mar 2015 12:12:11 Processing Time: 1239ms