Cowboys destroyer and Dally M medal winner Jason Taumalolo and Canberra Raiders pair Jordan Rapana and Joseph Tapine have been added to the Kiwis train-on squad.

The trio have joined the wider group after their clubs were eliminated from the NRL playoffs in last weekend's preliminary finals, to prepare for the upcoming transtasman test against Australia in Perth and the Four Nations tournament in England.

Rapana has been one of the NRL's form wings this season, scoring 23 tries and making 26 line-breaks, and leading the competition in both categories.

A former New Zealand Maori and Cook Islands representative, Rapana is knocking on the door for Kiwis selection after forming an outstanding right-edge combination with Raiders centre Joey Leilua.


Tapine, a former Junior Kiwi, joined the Raiders midseason from the Newcastle Knights and produced consistently powerful performances off the bench.

Taumalolo made his test debut during the 2014 Four Nations and last played for the Kiwis in the 16-0 defeat to the Kangaroos in Newcastle in May.

Their inclusion brings the wider squad to 32, with the final touring group of 24 due to be named next week, after Sunday's NRL Premiership final.

Meanwhile, Wests Tigers centre Tim Simona and Brisbane Broncos second row Alex Glenn have dropped out of contention through injury.

Kiwis train-on squad: Adam Blair, Lewis Brown, Greg Eastwood, James Fisher-Harris, Addin Fonua-Blake, David Fusitu'a, Shaun Johnson, Jordan Kahu, Solomone Kata, Shaun Kenny-Dowall, Thomas Leuluai, Isaac Liu, Tuimoala Lolohea, Issac Luke, Simon Mannering, Te Maire Martin, Suaia Matagi, Manu Ma'u, Sam Moa, Jason Nightingale, Jordan Rapana, Brad Takairangi, Joseph Tapine, Jason Taumalolo, Martin Taupau, Elijah Taylor, Jazz Tevaga, Bodene Thompson, Manu Vatuvei, Jared Waerea-Hargreaves, Dallin Watene-Zelezniak.