Luckless Aaron Gate has missed out on a chance to ride at the Glasgow Commonwealth Games.

The Auckland pursuit rider was in the bronze medal winning teams at both the London Olympics in 2012 and world championships at Cali, Colombia this year and fourth in the omnium there.

However a broken collarbone, and another more recent tumble, had affected Gate's chances of selection.

Timaru rider Shane Archbold, in strong form, will join Dylan Kennett, Marc Ryan and Pieter Bulling in the pursuit quartet.


Archbold will ride three events, the others being the scratch and points races.

Today's naming confirms the expected; the world championship-winning team sprinters Ethan Mitchell, Sam Webster and Eddie Dawkins will ride for more glory on the opening night of the track meet at the Chris Hoy velodrome on Thursday.

The most lightly raced of the men, with one event apiece, will be Bulling and Paddy Bevin, who is contesting just the individual pursuit.

New Zealand track cycling teams for Glasgow:


Team Pursuit: Dylan Kennett, Pieter Bulling, Marc Ryan, Shane Archbold. Reserve: Aaron Gate.

Individual Pursuit: Marc Ryan, Dylan Kennett, Patrick Bevin.

Scratch: Tom Scully, Dylan Kennett, Shane Archbold.

Points: Tom Scully, Aaron Gate, Shane Archbold.

Team Sprint: Ethan Mitchell, Sam Webster, Eddie Dawkins. Reserves: Matt Archibald, Simon van Velthooven.

Sprint: Sam Webster, Eddie Dawkins, Matt Archibald. Reserves: Simon van Velthooven, Ethan Mitchell.

Keirin: Sam Webster, Eddie Dawkins, Simon van Velthooven. Reserves: Matt Archibald, Ethan Mitchell.

1000m Time Trial: Simon van Velthooven, Matt Archibald.

Individual Pursuit: Jamie Nielsen, Lauren Ellis, Georgia Williams.
Scratch: Georgia Williams, Lauren Ellis, Rushlee Buchanan.
Points: Georgia Williams, Lauren Ellis, Rushlee Buchanan.
Sprint: Stephanie McKenzie.
500m Time Trial: Stephanie McKenzie.