Motorsport: Dixon 14th at Indy 500

New Zealand's Scott Dixon has finished in 14th place at the Indianapolis 500 won by Tony Kanaan under caution.

It is Kanaan's first Indianapolis 500 victory after four previous top three finishes.

2008 champion Dixon was never in with a serious chance of winning his second race at the Brick Yard as rival manufacturer Chevrolet dominated proceedings.

Four of the top five placings were Chevrolet drivers with seven in the top 10.

Kanaan drove past Ryan Hunter-Reay on a restart with three laps to go, then coasted across the finish line under yellow when defending race winner Dario Franchitti crashed far back in the field.

It was a hugely popular victory at the speedway, where Kanaan had endured so much heartache. The Brazilian had led 225 laps coming into the race, more than any other non-winner besides Michael Andretti and Rex Mays, yet had never taken the checkered flag. He finished second in 2004 and twice finished third.

Now, his face will go on the Borg-Warner Trophy. Kanaan is an Indy 500 champion, coming through on a cool day of thrilling competition that smashed the record for most lead changes and most leaders.

More to come...


Get the news delivered straight to your inbox

Receive the day’s news, sport and entertainment in our daily email newsletter

Stats provided by

© Copyright 2017, NZME. Publishing Limited

Assembled by: (static) on production bpcf04 at 26 Apr 2017 11:41:23 Processing Time: 380ms