Cricket: Vettori sole NZ awards nominee

Black Caps skipper Daniel Vettori. Photo / Brett Phibbs
Black Caps skipper Daniel Vettori. Photo / Brett Phibbs

Captain Daniel Vettori is the sole New Zealander nominated for the International Cricket Council's annual awards.

Offspinner and accomplished batsman Vettori is among 16 players listed in the Cricketer of the Year category, which includes six Australians and five South Africans.

Vettori is also included among the 15 one-day international Player of the Year nominees but was not included in the 16-strong test group.

England offspinner Graeme Swann was the most notable omission from any category, having taken 49 test wickets at 27.55 and 28 one-day wickets at 23 in the qualification period to climb to third on the ICC bowling rankings.

The lists of nominations were made by a five-man selection panel chaired by former West Indies captain and current chairman of the ICC cricket committee Clive Lloyd.

The panel included former international players Angus Fraser of England, Matthew Hayden of Australia, Ravi Shastri of India and Zimbabwe's Duncan Fletcher, also the former England coach.

Shortlists for each award will be produced before the ceremony in India on October 6.


Cricketer of the Year:

Hashim Amla (South Africa), Doug Bollinger (Australia), Michael Clarke (Australia), Mahendra Singh Dhoni (India), Ryan Harris (Australia), Mitchell Johnson (Australia), Jacques Kallis (South Africa), Morne Morkel (South Africa), Ricky Ponting (Australia), Kumar Sangakkara (Sri Lanka), Virender Sehwag (India), Dale Steyn (South Africa), Sachin Tendulkar (India), Daniel Vettori (New Zealand), AB de Villiers (South Africa), Shane Watson (Australia)

Test Player of the Year:

Amla, James Anderson (England), Mohammad Asif (PAK), Bollinger, Dhoni, Tamim Iqbal (Bangladesh), Mahela Jayawardene (Sri Lanka), Kallis, Simon Katich (Australia), Sangakkara, Thilan Samaraweera (Sri Lanka), Sehwag, Steyn, Graeme Swann (England), Tendulkar, Watson

ODI Player of the Year:

Amla, Bollinger, Dhoni, Tillekeratne Dilshan (Sri Lanka), Harris, Michael Hussey (Australia), Kallis, Ponting, Sehwag, Tendulkar, De Villiers, Vettori, Watson, Cameron White (Australia)


Get the news delivered straight to your inbox

Receive the day’s news, sport and entertainment in our daily email newsletter


© Copyright 2017, NZME. Publishing Limited

Assembled by: (static) on production apcf03 at 25 Mar 2017 13:44:40 Processing Time: 530ms