APRA release 'Silver Scroll' longlist

By Hugh Sundae

Twenty of the best local songs written in the last year are a step closer to a Silver Scroll award, with the release of the APRA Silver Scroll longlist this morning.

The Silver Scroll award, now in its 46th year, has long been recognised as the country's most prestigious songwriting award, with only a song's artistic merit being taken into consideration by the judges.

The longlist is compiled by an anonymous panel of APRA (Australasian Performing Right Association) members, and is then voted on by over 7500 members of the association.

A shortlist of five finalists will be released ahead of the annual gala awards night on September 13 at the Auckland Town Hall.

Full list

Singing Showers Golden Lights, Grand Rapids (Ben King)

Blanket, Bachelorette (Annabel Alpers)

Bright Idea, Andrew Keoghan (Andrew Keoghan)

Celia, Annah Mac (Annah MacDonald)

Cold Feet, Liam Finn (Liam Finn)

Darkness All Around Us, Kody and Bic (Kody Nielson)

Everyone's Asleep, Clap Clap Riot (Stephen Heard/Dave Rowlands/Strachan Rivers/Tristan Colenso)

Everything's Gonna Be Alright, Mulholland (Jolyon Mulholland)

FFunny FFriends, Unknown Mortal Orchestra (Ruban Nielson)

Google Song, Gareth Thomas (Gareth Thomas)

Grandma's Cookies, Jesse Sheehan (Jesse Sheehan)

How Ye, Die Die Die (Andrew Wilson/Michael Prain/Lachlan Anderson)

Lead Us, Katchafire (Logan Bell/Jordan Bell)

Leaving, Lisa Crawley (Lisa Crawley)

Little Heart, Delaney Davidson (Delaney Davidson)

Little Islands, Anna Coddington (Anna Coddington/Ned Ngatae)

Little Survivor, Julia Deans (Julia Deans)

Love Love Love, Avalanche City (David Baxter)

Nothing to Lose, The Adults (Jon Toogood/Karoline Tamati)

She Was A Mountainside, Bannerman (Richard Setford)

Your views

Get the news delivered straight to your inbox

Receive the day’s news, sport and entertainment in our daily email newsletter


© Copyright 2017, NZME. Publishing Limited

Assembled by: (static) on production apcf03 at 30 May 2017 18:24:27 Processing Time: 601ms